Carys

  • Age: 23
  • Nationality: United Kingdom
  • Languages: Spanish, German, English, and French

Volunteer Experiences

Experience in Dominican Republic

Eco Village Samaná, Dominican Republic Nov/2018

Bartending, Party Promoter, Night Shift, and Music

0319a92fb4d922bfbc205431d6631cf2
Review written by the host
5

Carys is amazing. A joy to be around and always looking for ways to creatively share her talents with others. We will all miss her beautiful singing and her lovely energy. We love you!

Endorsements
  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment
78bf29fb614eef74d643979d4a581417
Carys replied

Thank you guys so much I miss you loads!! I can't wait to come back.


78bf29fb614eef74d643979d4a581417
Review written by Carys
5

The Dominican Treehouse village is such a magical place, everyone is so friendly may it be the guest or your colleagues. As a volunteer, I got to help out at the bar but mainly organise art/music activities for the guest. Volunteering at the Treehouse is so enjoyable it feels like a vacation!! You'll spend your time talking and playing games with the guests in the evening whilst serving drinks and cleaning a few glasses, during the day you have to cover some lunch shifts depending on how many volunteers are present, if not you'll be free to explore the island and get to know the locals.

Experience in Nepal

NGO Chitwan, Nepal Sep/2018

Teaching Sports, Teaching Languages, Music, and Arts

Host didn’t write a review

Hi guys, my name is Carys I'm 22 and I'm a passionate traveller. I am currently on my own minimalism adventure running Eco-Workshops all around then world. During the last past year or so I have traveled to many places such as; Germany, Spain, Nepal, Istanbul, Morocco, France, Beijing, Australia, Toronto and the Dominican Republic. online CV : https://carysmaiblythin.wixsite.com/portfolio

Languages

Fluent
  • English
  • French
Beginner
  • Spanish
  • German

Skills

I'm an expert!
  • Administration
  • Animal Care
  • Arts
  • Bartending
  • Child Care
  • Cleaning
  • Content Writer
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
  • Music
  • Party Promoter
  • Photography
  • Social Media
  • Social Work
  • Teaching Languages
  • Tour Guide
Some experience
  • Cooking
  • Farming
  • Gardening
  • Handyman
  • Night Shift
  • Painting & Decorating
  • Reception
  • Teaching Sports
  • Video Making
  • Web Developer

Background

Education

I'm British but I grew up in France for 15 years, where I did a Baccalaureate in music (7 years of saxophone lessons, 1 year of percussion, self taught guitarist and 2 years of opera, singing as a solo artist and in multiple bands) and English literature. I am currently at University in Brighton studying EVENTS Managements and marketing. I am a qualified Activity/Play leader, I have my first aid certificate, my full drivers licence and TEFL.

Work Experience

Where to start?...
I have had multiple jobs from the age of 13, working as a babysitter, gardening, cleaning, waitressing , bar work, teaching, activity leader, looking after animals, organizing trips, event planner, assistant manager of a hotel etc etc

Travel Experience

I've been to France x100, Spain, Italy, Germany x4 , Ireland, Beijing x2, Morocco, Abu Dhabi x2, Australia x2.
I am at my most happiest when I am travelling, I love discovering new places, cultures and people. Every time I leave the country I've been travelling in I feel like a leave a part of me, all the amazing things I did and the amazing people I meet and I can't wait to do it all over again.
Things I've done: skydiving, diving, kayaking, ate a scorpion, surfing, playing with wild animals, hiking, art, rock climbing, camping, camel rides etc etc you know the usual.