Volunteer Experiences

View all

Experience in Brazil

Hostel Belo Horizonte, Brazil Jul/2019

Cleaning, Housekeeping, and Reception

Host didn’t write a review

Experience in United Kingdom

Hostel Greater London, United Kingdom May/2018

Cleaning, Housekeeping, Night Shift, and Reception

Cb7fc8bfffb9f8110a51ba3c80f6ed78
Review written by the host

Monise is an all around ROCK STAR! She is everything a manager, co-worker, and friend would want in a Worldpacker volunteer. A legend when it came to all tasks from housekeeping to reception. She does it all with a positive attitude and willingness to go above and beyond as a team player to achieve any goal. I would recommend her to any host.

Endorsements
  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment

556ad1fc78307d5b94aab76ed18d8362
Review written by Monise

I stayed almost 2 months at the hostel, there was many volunteers so the workload was fair and well distributed. The atmosphere is nice and the team is always hanging out together. The hostel is well connected by bus and trains (zone 2, which won't cost a lot to go to the city center). The down points is that the hostel is over a pub that has very loud live music every day until late night (ear plugs available) and the wifi provided is terrible, working properly only in the common area in off peak hours. Hope the new management will take care of it soon ;) Thanks a lot for having me, guys!

Experience in Ireland

Guest House Dublin, Ireland Mar/2018

Kitchen Hand, Cleaning, Administration, and Reception

Host didn’t write a review

Worldpackers Gigs

Here are the contributions made to the Worldpackers community

Expert

Answering questions from other travelers

Currently 'backpacking' around Europe with a heavy suitcase, running away from my comfort zone. Life goal: step in every country of this beautiful world, help and encourage other people to do the same.


How can Monise help you?

Sabbatical
First trip abroad
Travel Solo
Practice English
Budget Travel
Work Exchange
Over 30
Backpacking
Using Worldpackers
Quit your Job

Languages

Fluent
  • Portuguese
  • English
Beginner
  • Spanish
  • Danish

Skills

I'm an expert!
  • Administration
  • Cleaning
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
  • Reception
Some experience
  • Cooking
  • Handyman
  • Night Shift
  • Painting & Decorating
  • Party Promoter
  • Photography
I want to learn it
  • Arts
  • Bartending
  • Farming
  • Gardening
  • Social Media
  • Social Work
  • Tour Guide

Background

Education

Starting studying languages in the second semester of 2019 at Federal University of Minas Gerais.

Work Experience

My last job was as executive assistant in an american consulting company. My duties was executive calendar management, expenses reports, travel arrangements, office routines (purchases, organization etc)
Previously I've worked as administrative assistant in another consulting company, a publishing company and health insurance company.

Travel Experience

I was au pair in Denmark from 2011 to 2014 in the same family, taking care of 2 kids and a cat. During that time I've travelled a lot in Europe.
Recently I worked in the reception of hostels in Belgium, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, helped to build a brand new hostel in Denmark, milked cows in a dairy farm in Turkey, and worked in a variety of tasks in hostels in Russia, Kazakhstan and Israel.