Simeon

Explorer Explorer
  • Age: 32
  • Nationality: United States
  • Languages: Tagalog / Filipino, Italian, Arabic, Serbian, Croatian, Spanish, Portuguese, and English

Volunteer Experiences

Experience in United Kingdom

Hostel Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom Apr/2020

Night Shift, Cleaning, Housekeeping, and Reception

Host didn’t write a review

Experience in Spain

Camping Riópar, Spain Feb/2020

Child Care, Teaching Sports, and Teaching Languages

Host didn’t write a review
01f14a26e82a1795484070f14adbb87a
Review written by Simeon
5

Best experience so far. Great location in the mountains, super easy work playing with kids. When the quarantine hit they took care of us for extra weeks. Made a lot of great friends and have a feeling I’ll return ;)

Experience in Italy

Province of Caltanissetta, Italy Jan/2020

Handyman, Farming, and Gardening

Host didn’t write a review
01f14a26e82a1795484070f14adbb87a
Review written by Simeon
4

Positives: *Melanie is very supportive of the travelers staying with her. She was helping one girl get a visa and made sure I had hotspot so I could teach online when the WiFi was not working. *fed very well and room was very comfortable *fun to be involved with a family in a big house with 2 energetic boys Negatives: *weren’t involved in the work I was doing, and I got some confusing communication from two different people, so I think nobody (including me) was happy with how much work was finished at the end. *a lot of shouting/fighting in the couple, kind of rude

Academy Certificates

Worldpackers Academy was created to prepare the travel community to be committed and engaged volunteers.

Medal

How to become an outstanding Worldpacker

Has watched our video series about how volunteering works and what your responsibilities as a volunteer will be.

Worldpackers Programs

Here are the contributions made to the Worldpackers community

Blogger

Writing articles for the Worldpackers Blog

Articles written as Blogger

Beyond the glass: eco-volunteering at a winery in Sicily with Worldpackers

6min

An English teacher, digital nomad, and adventurer who lives for the mountains and the beach. I've been working abroad and traveling since 2013 and the road just keeps going and river just keeps flowing.

Languages

Fluent
  • Spanish
  • English
Intermediate
  • Italian
  • Serbian
  • Croatian
  • Portuguese
Beginner
  • Tagalog / Filipino
  • Arabic

Skills

I'm an expert!
  • Animal Care
  • Arts
  • Bartending
  • Child Care
  • Cleaning
  • Content Writer
  • Cooking
  • Farming
  • Gardening
  • Handyman
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
  • Painting & Decorating
  • Social Media
  • Social Work
  • Teaching Languages
Some experience
  • Administration
  • Music
  • Night Shift
  • Party Promoter
  • Photography
  • Reception
  • Teaching Sports
  • Video Making
  • Web Developer
I want to learn it
  • Tour Guide

Background

Education

I have a B.A. in English Professional Writing, a TEFL certificate, and I'm currently taking a B.A. in Spanish Literature and Culture.

Work Experience

When younger, I worked as a chef and waiter. I also grew up working on a farm, and did construction work for several years to pay for university. Now I have been teaching English language since 2012. I also spent a couple years working in advertising and writing web content.

Travel Experience

I have been traveling and working abroad since 2013. From 2013 - 2015 I worked in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. From 2015 - 2017 I worked in Abu Dhabi. Then, I began to backpack Europe. My home base has been in Rijeka, Croatia since 2018.