Volunteer Experiences

Experience in United Kingdom

Hostel Greater London, United Kingdom May/2018

Administration, Reception, Night Shift, and Housekeeping

Cb7fc8bfffb9f8110a51ba3c80f6ed78
Review written by the host

Wendy was a great help in all aspects! She worked hard and was very social with everyone. We are happy to have been able to host her and I would recommend her to anyone looking for a legend.

Endorsements
  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment

3fa7789399ca6ed99a2b152f41a81f9e
Review written by Wendy

I really enjoyed my time at the hostel. Met great people while working there. The shifts aren't that hard and are nicely devided over the week. Kyle, the new manager is making some cool changes to the hostel create more of a travellersvibe. He listens to the input of all the volunteers! Keep up the good work;) And for everyone who's about to travel to London, I would recommend this hostel and area to learn and see more about how Londoners live. Gr Wen

Worldpackers Gigs

Here are the contributions made to the Worldpackers community

Expert

Answering questions from other travelers

Hi, My name is Wendy from the Netherlands and I would be happy to assist you with your travel plans, struggles and ideas. I am a traveler, writer, salsa lover and people person. I am a social worker from the heart and busy finishing my BSW. Here for I am working with people from different cultures inside and outside my own country, soon. What am I doing on world packers? As I can give something to the world, worldpackers is a platform that can help me and you to explore the world. Once a traveler, always a traveler? In my experience it’s very true. In my blogs you can read about all the different things I am interested in, I will for sure hook you up with tips of where to go and what to see. list of likes: intercultural communication – studying abroad - foods – coffee – woman empowerment – life music – LHGBQ community – hiking – spoken word – Europe – South East Asia Feel free to message me if you have any questions about the topics above, anything else is also fine. Enjoy your reads, And safe travels!


How can Wendy help you?

First trip abroad
Travel Solo
Travel as a Student
Budget Travel
Backpacking
Quit your Job

Social media

Languages

Fluent
  • English
  • Dutch

Skills

I'm an expert!
  • Child Care
  • Cleaning
  • Housekeeping
  • Social Work
Some experience
  • Administration
  • Arts
  • Bartending
  • Teaching Sports
I want to learn it
  • Gardening
  • Night Shift
  • Reception
  • Teaching Languages
  • Tour Guide

Background

Education

I have a degree as social cultural worker (community college level) next year I am finishing my bachelor's degree of social work.

Work Experience

I've worked a lot with children with and without dissabilities. Next to that I have worked different shops and build up some marketing experience by promoting different kind of products.

Travel Experience

3 months in South East Asia, Londen, Scotland, Seasonable job in France