Cumie & Alex's house

Hello & Welcome to Mallorca! (*Please, NO COUPLES and NOT TWO FRIENDS traveling together - INDIVIDUALS ONLY. Thank you.)

We are looking for a volunteer for childcare + some cleaning (see more details below).

It’s my happy privilege to be the main care giver to our 6-yr-old son. (I work a lot of hours for my music career, but mostly from home and my schedule is flexible). Help needed such as entertaining our son, talking to him, helping him discover and play new games, watching that he’s safe while he walks and plays, feeding him, etc. I will usually be nearby; I simply need more time to work in my home office/music studio.

We also need some light help with household chores, which may or may not include: washing dishes, laundry (we have an electric washer), taking out the trash and/or the recycling, vacuuming, cleaning and similar tasks. Our friendly dog also really appreciates when someone takes her for a run or walk!

It's useful to us if you have a driver's license (for at least 2 years, if you are younger than 25 years old). You will not be driving a lot, but maybe on occasion.

The way it's been working well (though most things are flexible:), is that the workawayer looks after our boy during afternoon hours (sometimes mornings in Summer), and the workawayer has 2 days completely off.

A volunteer stays in our guest room, or in the home of my husband's parents (same block as our house). My husband's parents live in the bottom floors of that home, and the WorkAway volunteer has the entire 3rd floor (top floor) to herself. The WorkAway bedroom is a private bedroom on the top floor with a balcony (with a little bit of a view of the Tramuntana mountains). Also on the top floor is a large "open floor plan" room -- a living room/kitchen/office space. On the lower floors, there are 2 bathrooms and another kitchen. Our house is only 1 block away, so, it's easy to go back & forth between both houses.

We are very appreciative of a volunteer's help, and we believe in giving respect and a lot of free time to people so they can explore the island, practice Spanish (or English, or Mallorcan Catalan), and enjoy social/cultural activities while here.

✪ The coolest things about our village is that it has the friendliest Mallorquíns, the strongest accent (in the older generations), and the spiciest food (there are non-spicy dishes too of course). It also has a train station to Palma and many other villages. (Most villages on the island do not have a train station, so we are very lucky in that regard.) Our houses are only 2 blocks away from the main Plaza Mayor, which is one of the nicest plazas in all of Mallorca. (◠‿◠) We are 20+ minutes from the nearest beach by bike, 7 minutes away by car.

Our village is surrounded by farmlands countryside and marshlands. We sometimes visit the organic farm of our village, b/c we used to live there and now our friends live there.

At both houses, we all prefer that you enjoy "doing your own thing", at whatever time works for you. On occasion, we invite the WorkAwayer to join us for a meal, and I also like to gift tupperwares when I cook extra. This way, a WorkAwayer can enjoy being mostly be independent, but also enjoy a few meals together for a bit of socializing. And when playing at our house with Kai, you are very welcome to make a snack, have a nespresso coffee or choose from a wide variety of teas.

There are 6 major supermarkets in our village, including a Lidl. The many Moroccan shops sell very, very inexpensive fruits and vegetables (great quality). And our village weekly farmers' market is every Sunday morning on the 2 main plazas.

The volunteer kitchen has hot plates for cooking with pots & pans, microwave, hand blender, hand wisker, and an electric grill/press, toaster and kettle. If you want to use our big oven on occasion, just ask.

We have a bicycle that you are welcome to borrow (it's not in great condition, but it works).
In general, it’s best you take the bus or bike to the beach, or the train to Palma (or to other villages on the way to Palma).
A few examples of how u can get around:
Inca = easy by train (market day is Thursday).
Bahía de Alcúdia/Playa de Muro = bus or bike.
Soller = train + another train or bus.
Valldemossa = train + bus.
Illetes = train + bus.

By the way, all my family speaks fluent Spanish and English.

*Please, no couples nor friends traveling together - individuals only. Thank you.

We look forward to hearing from you! Happy travels! ☼ ❀ ♫

Hi! We are a photographer/entrepreneur and a singer/voice teacher, together for 19 years, and our beautiful little boy, with whom we are super in love! We've lived in the US, UK, & currently Spain. We speak English and Spanish in our home. We enjoy creative cooking. We are happy to host volunteers who can help with child care for our 5-year-old & don't mind giving a bit of help cleaning. Please get in touch with us if you'd like to visit Mallorca. Thank you! ツ


(4 reseñas)4

Anfitrión y equipo


Horas y tareas




Aprendizaje y diversión




Fue mi primer experiencia en voluntariado y superó ampliamente mis expectativas. Super contento desde el primer minuto que llegué, me recibieron con mucha alegría y cariño. Super acogedor el lugar. Respetaron todo lo acordado, me gustó la flexibilidad que manejan de acuerdo a la necesidades de ambos. Tuve la fortuna de tener contacto con toda la familia, excelente trato. Kai es un niño muy alegre que contagia mucha energía y fue muy lindo jugar con el. Ayudé con otras tareas y compartí momentos con argentinos y personas de otro país, muy bueno el ambiente, como en casa. Sin duda volvería.

hace 2 meses



Wow, como primera experiencia tengo que destacar que fue más de lo que esperaba. Tuve la posibilidad de charlar con cada miembro de la familia de Cumie & Alex, siempre con buenos tratos y respeto.
En cuanto a Kai, fue un excelente espejo para aprender y no perder ese niño interno que tenemos dentro. 5 años de pura energia, le gusta moverse, el azucar (asi que si pensas darle un chocolate, estas dando en el blanco) 😄 y generalmente responde super bien a las indicaciones que puedas darle.
En cuanto a Sa Pobla el lugar es ideal si buscas paz y tranquilidad.

hace 7 meses



He pasado un tiempo maravilloso con la familia, Kai, Cumie, Alex y Luna son tan gentiles y todo el tiempo disfruto estar ahí. Me ha encantado, Kai es un niño con mucha imaginación y muy lindo, todo aquí se ha sentido siempre como estar en casa. Estoy muy agradecida por tener la oportunidad de pasar tiempo aquí, es algo que va estar por siempre en mi corazón ♥️

hace 12 meses



I am so glad my first experience here was with Cumie and Alex!
They are very sweet, enthusiastic and caring people and it made me feel very safe to be with them. It was very nice to live in a separate house with other volunteers, we really had our own place. Cumie and Alex invited us a few times to go to the boat with them, which was a fun surprise. Kai is an energetic boy who likes to act a bit crazy😉 it was nice to have moments where we could play nicely and connect together i would absolutely recommend this experience for other volunteers! thanks for everything Cumie, Alex and Kai 🥰💫

hace 1 año

Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza

Contacto con los animales


Yoga / Meditación