Flexible and Relaxed Homestay for German Tutoring, House Projects (MALE ONLY)

Arizona: Flexible Homestay Opportunity for German or English Speakers OVERVIEW: This is a great opportunity for a brief and casual "add-on" before, after or between your other volunteering, work-exchange projects or homestays in the U.S. If you are exploring the U.S., or making your way to another assignment, and would like to layover in Arizona, then keep reading! My particular interest is in hosting native or fluent German speakers who would like to help me improve my German (both Hochdeutsch and conversational / idiomatic). I have six semesters of college-level German but need help with my vocabulary. I would describe myself as B1, maybe B2 proficiency. I can help you with your English in exchange if you like. The maximum stay for German speakers is one month. Those who are not German speakers can perform other modest services for me. I have an always-evolving list of household projects around the house -- including manual labor as well as some digital projects such as creating videos of my recent travel pictures (I can provide samples of what I mean). The maximum stay for non-German speakers is ten days. There may at any given time be a foster dog in the home -- see below for details. I'm also especially interested in hosting anyone with experience in teaching music theory or music history. (Regardless of the arrangement you are seeking, please be either a native English speaker or have B2 proficiency or higher.) POSSIBLE DUTIES: --Cooking / shopping --General Maintenance --Help in the house --Animal care --Charity work --Language practice --Art project --Help with Computers / internet DETAILS: Again, the help you can provide depends on your native language. If you are a German speaker, then I would ask for regularly scheduled daily sessions helping me improve my skills through direct conversation, coaching me on Duolingo, helping me read German news sites, that sort of thing. If you would like to do the same with your English in exchange, that's fine. For anyone who is not fluent in German, I do have some relatively minor house projects that require a second person (painting, moving / hauling heavy items, etc.). Daily cooking and housecleaning responsibilities could also be added. I am very flexible about the specific arrangements that can be worked out. I also volunteer with the Arizona Humane Society as a foster host for dogs. These dogs are pre-adoption and usually are recovering from surgery or other medical conditions, and therefore generally cannot be "played with" in the usual sense. They are typically here for only two or three weeks. If a foster is present, then you are expected to spend at least one hour per day interacting (not "playing") with the dog -- slow walks, petting, giving treats, that sort of thing. Professional musicians -- especially those with experience teaching music theory, Western/European music history, composition and conducting -- are also invited. I am studying the oboe but would like to learn about general music theory as well. If you play the piano, then you could play continuo or duet for my oboe recital pieces during my practice sessions. (I have an electronic keyboard). If you have artistic skills (painting, sketching, etc.) and would like to make some art for my home, then I would cover the cost of supplies. Those with video editing skills could also help turn my travel photos over the years into videos. I used to do it myself and realized I'm not very good at it. ACCOMMODATION: Large spare bedroom in private townhome with full-sized bed and private (en suite) bathroom with shower and tub. There is a full-size bed (and a large airbed for a second Workawayer) and a small desk suitable for laptop use. Large closet with plenty of hangars. I provide breakfast: a variety of cereals, bread, bagels, waffles, oatmeal, eggs, milk, orange juice, coffee and tea are usually on hand. You must provide for your own lunch and dinner. There is a supermarket literally next door. You have full access to the kitchen as well as the living room, laundry room and back patio. The large-screen TV has network channels and a Roku with Netflix and many basic cable channels. I also an Xbox 360 with a modest selection of games. There is free wi-fi throughout the house. Community pool and hot tub seasonally (April - October). There are (uncovered) parking spots right outside the door. For bicyclists, I have a "Giant Escape" men's touring bike in very good condition that you can borrow. THE AREA: There are several nice nature preserves and hiking areas to explore. The Phoenix Valley is very flat and bike-friendly (though not all roads are). Professional baseball, football, hockey, basketball and women's basketball are all played locally. Cultural activities (museums, etc.) are somewhat limited but available. The Metro Light Rail is three miles down the road. If I'm free then I'll usually offer to drive you there. There is also a nearby bus station that will take you straight there, or you can Uber/Lyft back and forth for about $5 each way. The Light Rail will take you to Downtown Phoenix, Sky Harbor Airport, the Phoenix Art Museum & Heard Museum, Chase Field (Diamondbacks) & Talking Stick Resort Arena (Suns), and further on to Tempe, ASU Main Campus, and Mesa.

I'm an attorney, financial planner and business consultant in private practice living in Glendale, Arizona. I also occasionally teach economics, finance and business ethics at the University of Phoenix. Before that I was an investment banker living in Manhattan. I have a B.S. in Business & Economics, an M.A. in Economics, and a J.D., which I earned at age 36. I live alone in a townhome development in Glendale, Arizona -- literally across the street from Phoenix. I have been an active host through similar websites for over five years and have dozens of references on those sites. I always enjoy having interesting people from around the world staying with me, and I'm excited to now be hosting through Worldpackers as well.

Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza