Raspberry Cottage

We have a small (new) permaculture farm in central-southern France, which is a work-in-progress, as are the farm buildings. Our daughter Everleigh has just turned one, so we are looking for a few extra pairs of hands to help with the renovation work, farm work, babysitting and helping around the house. We are located about 20 minutes from Tulle, the nearest town, and the nearest bakery is about 4km away. We are in the department of Correze, which is known as the "Green Country"; there are lots of trees and the countryside is undulating - very scenic for cycling and walking/running, which suits us as we are keen trail runners and triathletes. There are also lakes nearby which we often visit to swim. We eat a predominantly plant-based diet and don't support factory or industrial farming, and we try to eat locally-produced food whenever possible. We expect volunteers to respect this stance during their stay. We speak English (native), Japanese (native and near-native), French (near-native and intermediate) and Spanish (beginner), so guests could practise any of these languages. Packers would also have the opportunity to learn about renovation and/or permaculture, and spend time in a lovely part of France. On our farm we grow raspberries, blackcurrants, blueberries (plants are only in their early stages) and most fruit and vegetables that are compatible with our climate. This year we are also starting to raise chickens and bees. We have a dog; Bruce (German Shepherd), who is very friendly.

We are not looking for people who are necessarily experts (we are certainly not experts ourselves), but people who are interested in our project, able to think on their feet, and willing to get in and give a hand, whatever the task may be. Possible tasks may include: eco-renovation of an old stone building, mulching, weeding, brushcutting, collecting firewood, and general help around the house. We expect volunteers to help us 4-5 hours per day. We also try to have one person who can take care of Everleigh for a couple of hours a day, and help with housework. This person should have some experience in looking after babies, and be happy with not using their electronic devices whilst babysitting. We have chickens, ducks and bees, so volunteers will be able to help and learn about keeping these animals during their stay. We try to be flexible with working hours and trust our packers to keep an eye on their own working hours, and expect our worldpackers to also be flexible and punctual. The old stone farmhouse we live in is quite basic. Depending on the number of volunteers we have at the time, travelers will stay in one of the bedrooms in the house or in a tent in a barn loft (we provide proper mattresses). We only accommodate worldpackers in the tents from April to October. As there are only two bedrooms in the house, you may have to share the room depending on the number of packers who are staying here. Please let us know if this is a problem and we will try to find a solution for you. What else ... What else ... We have mountain bikes that worldpackers can borrow to discover the surrounding countryside. There are also pleasant walks in the area. We are both part-time translators so worldpackers will have time off while we are working. We are an easy-going couple but we do work quite hard. In terms of meals, we have found that it works best both for us and volunteers if we have a balance between eating together and separately. This way, we have the opportunity to get to know each other, and the workwayers also get some time to themselves to get to know the other worldpackers or just to chill out. We eat together around three evenings a week (on weekdays), and for the rest of the time, we provide worldpackers with food they are free to use.

Host%402x Anfitrión Top
Este anfitrión recibe muchos worldpackers y tiene una evaluación media alta.


11 reseñas11

Anfitrión y equipo


Horas y tareas




Aprendizaje y diversión




Craig, Fran and Everleigh were just so nice! the tasks were easy and you could learn a lot of things during them, and after that you could enjoy Fran's delicious food (ask her to cook curry with chutney). the toilet might seem scary the first days but you will get used to them easily. Evi is the most adorable girl and she will love you and will want to play with you. you can also visit Annie, the neighbor, and practice your French while drinking tea. i would definetly recommend this experience, but you have to keep in mind that it's a rural area so bring books and stuff specially during winter

hace 4 meses



Nuestra estadía con Fran y Craig ha sido INCREIBLE! Sin duda el mejor voluntariado donde hemos estado. Realmente el tiempo compartido con ellos ha sido maravilloso ya que son dos personas bellísimas que te hacen sentir como en casa! Evi e Iris son hermosas y la comida de Fran es espectacular!! Las instalaciones de la casa son muy cómodas, y todo lo que brindan es mucho más de lo que hemos recibido en ningún otro voluntariado. El lugar donde se encuentra la casa es totalmente tranquilo y hermoso.

hace 5 meses



I liked my stay! Hosts were caring, with a sense of humor, chill, food was tasty and a bit spicy.

Things to know before you go: phone connection in the area is bad but the wi-fi is very good. Compost toilet is at 2-3 meters height, need to climb ladder. Some works can be dirty - take your worst clothes/shoes. Stone house stays cold in summer, take smth warm also. Not suitable if you have spiders or snakes phobias. Volunteers are provided with lunch Monday to Friday, the rest you cook yourself. If you are not very fit as me, work sometimes can be physically hard but doable.

I recommend 😊

hace 9 meses



I have had a great time at Fran and Craig’s place, it was really a nice volunteering experience and we learn a lot about find ways to impact less the planet, as about construction and renovation. They are a very kind family eager to help you and guide you through the tasks, and the best part is Fran’s cooking skills, is amazing! I hope I can come back soon!

hace 10 meses



My stay with Craig and Fran was amazing, I reallyfelt like in home, they are always present to help and teach you in the work even though tasks aren’t that hard, had tons of interesting and fun conversations while learning different languages. I’ll always be thankful for all what I learned from Craig while living and working in his project. Little Everleigh always making everyone smile and Fran’s cooking is just something else, you won’t find better vegan dishes anywhere else. There’s a lot to discover and learn from correze, I’ll definitely miss a lot this place, hoping I can come back soon.

hace 10 meses

Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza


Contacto con los animales