Live and work on a smallholding in the wild west of Ireland


El intercambio

Greetings fellow travellers! My name's Daniel, and I've been a volunteer since 2012. I recently purchased a hundred-year-old stone cottage in County Sligo on the west coast of Ireland. I'm now looking for enthusiastic volunteers to assist me in restoring it and developing the one acre of land into a permaculture smallholding. Expect to work in the vegetable garden, looking after my many animals, and basic tasks on the cottage.


Title

25 Horas de ayuda por semana

Cuidado de Mascotas: Ayuda a cuidar mascotas.

Mantenimiento: Ayuda con varias tareas de reparación o construcción.

Ayuda en Granjas Eco: Siembra, cosecha y ayuda con tareas del campo.

Jardinería: Ayuda a plantar y cultivar jardines.


Que obtienes

2 dias libres por semana

Habitación compartida: Tendrás una cama en un cuarto compartido con otros viajeros.

Desayuno: Tienes derecho a desayunos gratis cada día de tu estadía.

Almuerzo: Tienes derecho a almuerzos gratis cada día de tu estadía.

Cena: Tienes derecho a cenas gratis cada día de tu estadía.

Puedes usar libremente nuestra lavandería.: Hay un lugar especial donde se lava la ropa sin costo.

Bicicletas a tu disposición: Puedes usar nuestras bicicletas cuando quieras.

Traslado: Te buscaremos cuando llegues y te llevamos a nuestro lugar.


Requisitos

Inglés Intermedio

Más de 18 años

Admite voluntarios solos, parejas y dúos


Lo que no está incluído

Vuelos, Seguro de Viaje, Transporte Interno y Visa


Programa detallado

I'm looking for helpers (one or two at a time) and can pick you up from Sligo or Roscommon, which are connected to Dublin, Galway and other major towns by bus and train. Alternatively, Knock airport is just thirty minutes drive from the cottage, and I could pick you up there!

The ideal volunteer would be someone looking for a peaceful environment with a lot of time for reflection (reading, writing, drawing, etc), who loves animals, and has a personal interest in vegetable-growing and permaculture, or at least a preference for working outside and getting their hands dirty. Bonus points for an interest in house restoration, or even applicable skills, but it's not necessary. A good level of basic fitness is important, as you will be on your feet most of the day. Wellies (rubber boots) are a requirement (it gets very muddy here), as is a waterproof coat. Flip-flops are optional... :)


Actividades & Turnos

The work will be varied, depending on the weather and your area of interest. Don't worry about a lack of expertise. Over the summer and early autumn there's plenty to do outside: weeding, strimming, landscaping, tending plants, etc. There's also restoration work on the cottage; at the moment I'm focused on replacing the roof and flagstone floor. And of course there's always basic tasks, like cooking, cleaning, washing, and walking my border collie. You'll have two full days off per week. Food is included, but it's basic stuff. Expect to see plenty of stars... and perhaps a few clouds (this is Ireland after all).

In time I'll develop the land further, planting hazel trees for nuts/coppicing, blueberry bushes, building poly-tunnels, and keeping bees for honey. Moderate self-sufficiency is my goal, but with an acre of land (about the size of a football pitch) I can't get too ambitious! :)


Reglas

No smoking/drugs anywhere on the property.