I quit my job as a teacher this year to travel around Portugal and Brazil to improve my language skills. I've ended up learning loads more than just Portuguese and am having an amazing Worldpackers experience. Passionate about travel too? Get in touch.


How can Helen help you?

Digital Nomad
Using Worldpackers
Vacation Travel
Budget Travel
Work Exchange
Eco
Practice English
Sabbatical
Quit your Job
First trip abroad
Travel Solo
Backpacking
Over 30

Reviews from Hosts

View all
Alex

Helen esteve conosco agora em Janeiro/19 e nos ajudou muito nas tarefas, pró-ativa e sempre disposta em ajudar, ou em aprender algo novo. Tem uma energia muito positiva e foi muito bacana tê-la conosco neste período! Esperamos recebê-la novamente em uma próxima oportunidade!

Feb/01/2019

Compliments
  • Proactiveness
  • Responsability
  • Commitment
  • Sociability
Sergio

Helen was very helpful and responsible for her work.
It was a pleasure to have Helen working with us!

Nov/18/2018

Compliments
  • Proactiveness
  • Responsability
  • Commitment
  • Sociability
View all reviews

Reviews about hosts

View all

Netherlands

I am very grateful that I had the chance to be a part of the Pouso Sambaquis family for two weeks. The work was well-organised according to a schedule and the tasks were fair and sometimes even fun, like baking cakes! I liked the schedule of two days of work and then one day off as it meant you had enough rest and time to enjoy the beautiful island. Alex, Maria and Tereza are all wonderful to work with and we often had a good laugh (even if it was sometimes because of my slightly different way of talking Portuguese!) I will forever have fond memories of this place. Highly recommended!

Jan/30/2019

Netherlands

I had a nice time at 7 Waves. There was a relaxed atmosphere and I was left to use my own initiative most of the time, which I liked. Probably because it was very quiet though; I imagine high season would be different. The owner was away most of the time I was there but when he was around he was very accommodating. The local area is lovely with great beaches!

Dec/19/2018

Languages

  • Intermediate: Portuguese and French
  • Fluent: Dutch and English

Skills

I'm an expert!
  • Cleaning
  • Cooking
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
  • Teaching Languages
Some experience
  • Bartending
  • Party Promoter
  • Photography
  • Reception
  • Tour Guide
I want to learn it
  • Administration

Background

Education

2005-2009 BA French with business and management at the University of Manchester
2011-2012 MA English Literature at Radboud University Nijmegen
2012-2013 MEd Teacher Training (English) at The University of Amsterdam

2017-present Portuguese Language with Instituto Camoes (distance learning)

Work Experience

I have a wide range of work experience. While studying I had various part-time jobs to help pay for university, including: market research; working in a bakery; delivering post; cleaning; dishwashing; catering.

For the past six years I have been working as an English teacher in a secondary school.

Travel Experience

Ever since I can remember I have loved travelling and learning about different cultures and countries. With my family I would go camping in France every year and when I was old enough and had enough money I started visiting new places. Outside of Europe I have been to Morocco, India, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Panama, the USA and Canada. I have also seen quite a bit of Europe, with Portugal being my absolute favourite country. It was actually love at first sight and since 2015 (my first visit - to Lisbon) I have been back a number of times, made portuguese friends and learned the language!

Facebook Likes