Airbnb Cottage in the rural Scottish Highlands

We are always seeking positive, self-motivated, enthusiastic and willing volunteers throughout the year to help take the pressure off our busy family life. For some honest reviews on us please check our other profile here: We are currently seeking a single male, female or couple for a last minute placement from any time now through till the 8th July. Unfortunately our summer placements are fully booked till 3rd September but anytime after that we'd love to have your help if you are available. ****IN ADDITION TO OUR CURRENT NEEDS WE ARE SEEKING TO FILL A 2 MONTH HOUSE SITTING PLACEMENT NEXT YEAR (2024) FROM MID-JUNE TO MID AUGUST or longer if desired. Ideally a couple. Self motivated, mature, very organised with good attention to detail, forward planners, trustworthy, good with animals and ability to drive an advantage but not essential.. Thank you in advance for reading our profile :) We are always seeking help throughout the year for a minimum of one month or longer if possible. Single person or a couple. Main duties will be based around the daily animal chores (yes you will get your hands dirty!), together with occasional help if required in the house cleaning and re-setting rooms after guests depart (dueing the winter months we do not usually have any paying guests). Volunteers to our home will be warmly welcomed with true Highland hospitality and the opportunity to discover rural Scotland in all it's stunning glory. We live next to the Harry Potter railway line and some of the true iconic scenery you will have seen only in films on Scotland. If you love the outdoors and our beautiful dogs plus have a willingness to learn about growing veggies and looking after ducks / chickens as well as a basic understanding of how a small high quality guest house is operated - then this will be the ideal place for you. We have easy access to some lovely beaches, hill lochs, beautiful Islands, amazing hikes and stunning mountains to climb - we will also take you to other places when we are able to go if you wish to join us.

We are a very busy working family with three small children, and if you arrive with a flexible, can do / positive, and willing attitude to do your best and work hard, then we will be most happy :-). If it feels like we are helping you, or we are constantly reminding you of your duties, then it's unlikely to work out! If you wish only to have a holiday in lovely Scotland, then please arrange this through a travel agent and not us. Here life is tough and you need to adapt to basic rural living. If you are a prince or princess please look for a palace to stay at! Here it is basic, rustic and rural living. We need honest, hard working, trustworthy, respectful, organised, self-motivated and flexible helpers that will make a POSITIVE difference to our lives. If you have passions for certain chores then we will try to help and encourage you in that area. Attention to detail is very important as often you will be working alone. If you are really willing to learn about business and many other aspects of rural living then we are very happy to teach you what we have learned. It is not an easy life and you must understand that before you get here. We offer two good meals a day - mid-morning and early evening with supplementary snacks if needed in between . Sometimes we have time to prepare these and sometimes it will be self-service! We do not always have time to be sociable with you and therefore you need to be comfortable in your own company although our children are always happy to interact with you if you are willing :). PLEASE - do not think Scotland is just a place with magical beauty. It is breathtakingly beautiful - BUT it is also a hard life and if you have been spoiled by showers every day, three course meals, a 'no rush' attitude, luxury accommodation and parents who have done everything for you then think twice please before applying as not only will you waste our time, but your own as well. Apply with the right attitude and your rewards will be great.


8 reviews8

Staff & Host


Hours & Tasks




Learning & Fun




0% recomendable.
-Gary, siempre enfadado. Grita sin sentido a todos, y lo que ofrece no es real (ni las fotos).
- Free tours/hiking: mentira. No tienen.
- free drinks: agua del grifo que sale marrón. Sino tb puedes beber zumo o leche, pero no siempre que es muy “cara” (ellos si pueden).
- Bikes: no hay
- Private room: tu habitación puede ser o el salón de la casa donde jueguen/coman los niños (no privacidad) o un cobertizo entre el gallinero y las vías del tren (no sueño). Tú eliges

Preguntad por privado y os mando fotos reales. Se limitan los caracteres y no puedo poner todo lo que debería.

15 days ago

Gary replied

Wow. So many lies. Arrogant, self-centred, confrontational, lack of empathy or understanding of our business and customer needs and gernerally VERY difficult to work with. Bikes were available - you never asked. Free hikes all over this area - others manage without problems - did you ever ask? Accommodation is as described and very accurate. If we gave you alcohol every day you would be happy right? Tap water is real water from the hills - the best you could ever want for. You were always selfish in your needs and not here to really help us.



I really enjoyed my stay here , this is a really good way to experience the highland lifestyle. Gary and Katie are lovely hosts, are very accommodating and make you feel apart of the family.

3 months ago

Gary replied

Thank you Jeremy. It was a real pleasure to host you. We appreciate your approach to the tasks and were very grateful for everything you did to take the pressure off our busy lives.



Creo que todo sería más llevadero si tú host fuera más amable. Podrían aclarar de principio las condiciones en las que vas a dormir, cómo va a ser tu baño y el tema de ducharse, tenía que trabajar con animales y no podía ducharme.
Katie es una excelente persona y gran cocinera, muy amable y siempre dispuesta a ayudar, pasarás mas tiempo con Gary, el podría ser más amable y más paciente a la hora de enseñarte las tareas

7 months ago



Para mi fue, en general un buena experiencia pero no es un sitio que recomendase a nadie por las siguientes razones:
-Los anfitriones no te tratan como un huésped porque tu no estás pagando por estar ahí y el hecho de que tu vayas a trabajar no es razón suficiente para tener una habitación propia, privacidad y espacio. Durante mi estancia aceptaron a dos huéspedes y quisieron meterme en un trastero repleto de cosas y con la intención de utilizarlo como comedor.
-Hice más trabajos que los especificados en su página, como tareas del hogar.
-Las horas de trabajo son más de las especificadas.

about 1 year ago

United Kingdom


This was good experience, I got to actually do things I set out to do and experience the duties I wished to. I got to be in the mountains, I got to feed the dogs, ducks and chickens. I got to learn a little about self sustainability, making own compost and planting seeds. I also got to travel a little in nearby towns. I will miss Gary, and the animals.

Overall a good experience. I would recommend to anyone that would like to try living in a rural area in the countryside.

However do be aware that weather changes ever so quickly and many times in the day.

about 1 year ago

Perfect for you if you're looking for


Contact with nature


Contact with animals