Aloha Ayurveda, Inc.

Our location is beautiful, with panoramic ocean views and complete privacy. Yet, we are right off the main highway on the island so easy to access any area you like to visit. My husband are both very laid back and accepting people. We both practice Yoga and vegan lifestyle. As we are in the preparation and planning phase, you will get to see the land as it transforms into into our vision of a full array of medicinal herbs, foods and fruit trees.

Welcome to our farm in South Kona. Our property is in Captain Cook, about 25 minutes south of Kealakekua and Kona Hospital. It is a beautiful Mauka side property with sweeping ocean views. The climate is perfect with temperatures ranging from 60-85 Fahrenheit all year round. We are located directly on Hawaii belt road highway, the major highway around the entire island. There is easy access to many beaches, sites, hiking, sight-seeing. The local bus stops directly in front of our property and is completely FREE to get you into the heart of town. Even the bus ride is exotic ocean views! In addition, the bus takes takes you all around the island including all of the major big box stores such as target and Walmart.

The inhabitants are a husband, wife and their 1 year old daughter. We have 2 indoor cats and about 20 outdoor cats on the property that we have have both spayed and given sanctuary to.

You will be staying in a classic 1974 VW Westphalia that has a full-sized loft bed with pop top roof and a convertible sofa-bed. There is a small lounge/kitchenette. Our family lives right next door in our house. You are welcome to use the bathroom in our guest-room for showering once a day. The VW will be equipped with a composting toilet. You will be responsible for cleaning and emptying your compost toilet. A fridge will be available for food storage, and a propane stove top for cooking. We will supply clean drinking water with a dispenser for you stay. You will be provided with an electrical hook up for powering devices such as computers, lights, etc and an ethernet cable for internet hook up.

We would prefer if you would come as a pair of 2 people as it makes working easier and the VW is a perfect fit for 2 people together.

What you will be doing:
Most recently we just cut down and chipped about 120 macadamia nut trees. Our next steps will be setting up the raised garden beds. This will involve putting together metal beds, filling with logs and organic material. Other activities could involve weed whacking around avocado trees, spreading wood chips, transferring large plants into larger pots, cleaning up around the property. We are also in the process of assembling spaces for people to stay once we have the retreat portion of our project in motion. This could involve helping to screw together box homes or redecorate the inside of a school bus. You may also be involved in some work around the farm house like painting, cleaning/organizing farm tools and sheds, fencing.

We expect about 20 hours of work per week. The rest of the time is yours to relax and enjoy the island. I work monday through friday from 8-5PM , so in general, my husband and my daughter will always be home. We will have other farm hands there to support you and help guide.

We require a minimum stay of 1 month

Generally, we make a trip out to the store every week and can pick you up supplies if requested.

We cook a vegan dinner every evening and you are welcome to join us. We will also take you around to some local sites like beaches and national parks.

The work can be physically challenging, but we treat everyone with respect and as part of the family. We like to foster an environment of learning, and will not make fun of anyone or mock them if they have difficulty learning or do not know something.


Reviews

5.0
(1 review)1

Staff & Host

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Hostel

5.0

Learning & Fun

5.0

United States

5

Adam and kitty are amazing and very rare people who you can learn so much from, they were so welcoming and it made me so comfortable being away from home, I can’t thank them enough for the magical experience I had:)

8 months ago


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Vegetarian / Vegan

Rural

Beach

Wilderness

Family