Auberge de la Providence

*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We are currently looking for help for the following periods: *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ - From the end of April until the beginning of June 2020 - July and August 2020 We prefer to host couples or two female helpers Ideally, we would look for a couple of which one person can help out with cleaning, cooking etc. and the other can help Eric with improvements, general maintenance and other work. But we'll consider other offers as well. Around Saint Donat there are many beautiful walks to do in your spare time. When we have time we will take you on trips around the country side or to villages in the area for sight seeing, hiking etc. In summer you can relax and have a swim at a waterfall nearby. In winter we can take you skiing. You can mingle with our local French, English and Dutch friends. Depending on the tasks at hand and your own interests you'll learn about gardening, how to cook local Auvergnate dishes, handyman skills etc. You can practice your English and French with us, our friends and the people in the village. Also we are fans of board and card games and movies so you can join us for a movie or game night when possible. Eric plays guitar and although he hasn't had much time for it lately, there are always one or two lying around for somebody to give it a go.

Hi, We, Eric and Caroline are a Dutch couple (42 & 47) that moved to France in 2010 to start a small hotel-restaurant-bar in a beautiful mountainous/volcanic area in the middle of France. This is outdoor-country with lots of walking and cycling trails, fishing, parapenting, etc. etc. In the winter there is a large ski area at 15 minutes drive (Superbesse). Our hotel has a homely atmosphere with 4 rooms and we have a restaurant with local specialties, bar, garden and terrace. We do most of the work ourselves. Caroline is the main cook and laundry lady and Eric does most of the maintenance, admin, marketing, construction work, waitering, bar tendering, shopping. Cleaning is our joined task. July/August are the busiest periods in which we can just manage the day-to-day tasks by ourselves. At the same time there is a lot of other work to be done as well, such as maintenance work, garden & vegetable garden and building our apartment on the attic. We also have two lovely dogs that get a bit neglected in the high season... Off season we spend our time on small maintenance and larger renovation projects, such as painting, making our apartment on the attic, preparing the garden etc. We are located in a small village in a beautiful area. Having your own wheels is not essential, but would obviously improve your options what to do in your spare time. Depending on the 'click' between us, we are looking for a short (minimum 2 weeks) or long term involvement. As we are already living with guests in our 'house' for most of the year, we do value our privacy when we have no guests. We have two a rooms with shared bathroom on the attic, so we can take in up to 4 people. In principal you will be responsible for your own cooking, but sometimes it's easier and more fun if one of us cooks for all of us and we can enjoy a meal and a movie or a game of darts or poker together. This differs from day to day depending the customers in our restaurant. Cooking can be done in a kitchen in your accommodation. we provide the ingredients obviously... There is internet connectivity and satellite TV , Wii and games. Occasionally you might have to share the bathroom with our friends and family or other volunteers that come over and occupy the 2nd room on the attic . Volunteering hours expected: 0n average 5 hrs a day 5 days a week, but flexibility required (and offered) depending on the season


13 reviews13

Staff & Host


Hours & Tasks




Learning & Fun




Nuestra experiencia fue excelente. Eric y Carolinne son muy agradables y, por supuesto, Trish & Charlie (mascotas) hacen una gran diferencia durante la estadía, son tranquilos y cariñosos, además son excelentes guías para tralizar caminatas alrededor de St. Donat.
El lugar que nos ofrecieron para hospedarnos es muy cómodo y espacioso, nos proporcionaron todos los alimentos para nosotros cocinar y las tareas asignadas eran fáciles de realizar.
La gran ventaja que nosotros tuvimos es que vinimos en nuestro coche y así pudimos visitar muchos lugares alrededor, cascadas, castillos, ciudades, etc.




This is a really beautiful place to be if you love nature! Eric and Caroline are very welcoming, although thru the high season they don't have much time. Truss and Charlie, the dogs, are the best company for hiking. I totally recommend them if you want to give a time off the city and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere from the countryside!


United Kingdom


My partner and I had the loveliest time at Auberge de la Providence! Caroline and Erik are wonderful hosts and foster a very welcoming environment and were always flexible, sympathetic and appreciative. The work load was easily manageable and in return we were provided with a fully equipped living space to ourselves and 3 meals per day. It was a pleasure getting to know Caroline and Erik over the past two weeks and we would recommend Auberge de la Providence to anyone!




I've had an amazing time close to a beautiful landscape, with mountains and volcanos. Eric an Caroline are a very nice couple. They have two amazing dogs: Charlie ans Truss. It was a precious time I've spent there in Saint-Donat. Thank you!




We came in the last 2 weeks of holidays and we had some rushing and busy days of work, but it was a nice experience if you are looking for total disconnection from the big cities. In the free time, going hiking with Charlie & Truus 🐶 (the dogs) was so fun! The place is surrounded by beautiful landscapes and it’s perfect for discovering nature. Definitely having a car/motorcycle is recommended to discover the area, is a really small town.


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature





Adventure Sports