Our place is really happy and friendly, we speak good English, we are used to having travellers visit. I must emphasise that the help we need centres around our new built house with bee keeping involvement an optional extra as not everyone can work with bees. (However, we have found, that once volunteers have a go they really enjoy learning valuable practical skills in the Apiaries) We would also welcome anyone who can help me curate our website and take professional photos for that purpose. There is a lot of incredible scenery, including seascapes. Our Island has Dark Skies Status, therefore is an excellent place for night photography and star-gazing. This is a Hebridean Scottish Island, which is 2.5 hours ferry travel from the port town of Oban. It is 3 hours by train or bus to Glasgow/Edinburgh. We frequently travel to and from mainland Scotland. For anyone staying more than 3 weeks, opportunities for you to travel while staying with us can be accommodated . In addition we are very flexible with our volunteers due to the varying demands of our apiaries, our volunteers have also had opportunities to connect with the wider community This is a quiet and remote place, with a relaxed atmosphere. In summer we have a lot of tourists and regular visitors who come to enjoy the gorgeous clean beaches and quiet island life Please do not use AI to communicate with us, or if you have used AI in the creation of your profile as we want to be able to communicate with you as a person, not a robot! we do not want or need a slick introduction! We are a married couple, Graham & Val, between us we have 4 daughters all in their 20's who visit. we have a rescue dog, 2 cats and 4 hens We are surrounded by the livestock farm which is run by my sister and other family who live nearby We ourselves have apiaries and a very busy beekeeping schedule in summer with breeding and honey production. We breed rare native black bees, supplying & mentoring other similar start-ups. Graham is a Merchant Seaman and I a part-time health worker Our home is a detached new build in a rural area close to beaches for surf and swimming The island has a large Bird nature Reserve which surrounds our place There is a big community centre with a gym, many islanders play sports, swim, run and cycle There is a good hotel with bar/restaurant and a café. Lots of yachts and holiday-makers visit in summer Volunteers will be treated as part of the family but they will have their own space for privacy, rest and recreation We have a fairly relaxed schedule, eating one main meal together around 7 30 pm but volunteers can opt to cook for themselves especially on their days off. We have several tents, kayaks and loads of camping gear to loan out We have good 4g wi-fi

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.


(11 reviews)11

Staff & Host


Hours & Tasks




Learning & Fun




My first experience volunteering with Worldpackers was unforgettable, thanks to Val and Graham's incredible hospitality. Their kindness and warmth made me feel right at home, and I'm already planning my next visit. Even though graham had to leave early, I still enjoyed the beework, the travel stories from him and the jokes. I spend most of my time with Val, Maya, Toto, and Droco. Val is incredibly at creating a cozy atmosphere, whether through soap-making, binge-watching our favorite show, having visitors, exploring the incredible nature or visiting the community. Can’t wait to come back❤️

about 2 months ago



I loved my time in Coll. Val made me feel welcomed and looked after. We had nice and interesting conversations. I feel grateful they had me over and if I could I would go back. I'll miss going swimming and making soap!. Working with the bees was really cool. I 100% recommend coming here :)
Keep in mind that as it is in a fairly rural area, they don't have running water yet. So if it's important to you, ask about the water situation. In all honesty, you get used to it really fast and you really learn to value water. It's worth the initial discomfort.
Thank you for your kindness Val.

8 months ago

United States


I stayed only one week with Val and Graham, and it was an amazing experience!! I didn't know what to expect as it was my first world packers experience, but it is possible they have RUINED all future worldpacker stays in the best way possible. Everyone on Coll is incredibly inviting, and from day one, I felt like a member of the community and of the family. The work is manageable, and time is respected. In time off, you can explore the island, visit Tiree or neighboring Islands via ferry, or just hang out with the locals in the town center. I can not recommend this experience more!!

9 months ago



My experience was great, maybe the best so far! Graham and Val are amazing hosts. They make you feel home - comfortable accommodation, great food, very convenient working hours (with bees!) And the place is so beautiful!
I definitely recommend this experience 🙂🙏🏼

9 months ago

Valentina replied

Please stay in touch Alex, we love you now, happy homeward journey ❤

Costa Rica


I cannot recommend this place enough. Val and Graham are exceptional people, their place is amazing beautiful. You get to eat fresh eggs every morning from their chickens, they have a lovely dog and two fluffy cats.

Working with the bees is lovely. Coll is a beautiful place and they would take me to the beach often and we swam on the ocean.

My heart is forever there and I genuinely didn't want to leave.

10 months ago

Valentina replied

Thanks so much Nickole, we loved having you stay, please keep in touch 🥰

Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature


Contact with animals