Champlains Well

We are a lively and interesting family with a lot of experience hosting volunteers. We live in a semi rural location close to the town, seaside and all amenities. Deal has an interesting and chequered past and was the main port used by Smuggling gangs bringing in wine and brandy from France. The old town is worth a visit with its smugglers cottages and the Time Ball Tower and museum. Nelson was a regular visitor. The Duke of Wellington lived at Walmer Castle and in fact died in his armchair there. There are many historical sites locally including the castles of Deal, Walmer and Dover. Of course the famous white Cliffs are near by. The Turner gallery in Margate is a must for art lovers. Margate also has the recently renovated Dreamland-a Victorian style fairground and amusements. The World heritage site of Canterbury is a short drive away or accessible by bus or train. The ancient, medieval, cinque port of Sandwich, with its recently discovered original copy of the Magna Carta, is 5 miles away. The British Open Golf tournament is often held at the Royal St George's Golf Club Sandwich and there are excellent facilities locally for the Golf lover. Local stables can arrange hacks and riding lessons There are spectacular walks along the White Cliffs of Dover and local countryside strolls. There is a thriving music scene in Deal with Music festivals and music pubs and the Astor Theatre There are many lovely restaurants and cafes-worth a wander round to chose what suits you. Bus stop 15 minutes walk-Bus to Canterbury and Deal Town Mainline railway station direct to London - 15 minutes walk-can collect from Walmer Station Travel time 1 hour 20 minutes Train links to: London Gatwick travel time 2hrs 25 minutes London Heathrow Travel time 2hrs 28 minutes London Stansted Travel time 2hrs 40 minutes Ashford International Rail station Travel time 40 mins Dover Priory Station Travel time 13 minutes

We treat volunteers like members of the family. We live in a beautiful 17th century house very close to Deal in Kent. We love music and my sons collaborate in a musical co-operative. I am a complementary therapist specialising in energy work. My husband works in London and is an engineer. We have lived here for 14 years and have done a lot of renovation work on the main house. We are now renovating a stable block and a barn so we can downsize We need general building. gardening and house work help and can offer space to 1 or 2 people in shared room. There is a shared bathroom. We try and eat local produce. We do not eat red meat so are happy to support veg and vegan diets. We have 3 dogs and a cat so it is vital that you are an animal lover. There is free unlimited wifi.


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Vegetarian / Vegan

Rural

Spiritual

Beach

Family