Diana's home

Location wise, we live in the countryside just off the pretty seaside town called San Lorenzo al mare, very close to the city centre (about 10-15 min walk) in what used to be my grandparents' farm. The farm is set in the hills with many fields and nature around it and very close to the sea and near the Alps as well. The volunteer can learn and speak Italian on a daily basis, immerse herself in the Italian local ways of living (we can teach recipes too!) and accompany us in some of our outings. Also being so close to other attractions and places to visit they can easily experience new interesting touristy or quirky places nearby. We require support with childcare for our 7 mts old baby in the morning, and light house chores or cooking if necessary. Also some gardening or help with the ground maintenance (e.g. painting, planting in the cultivation fields, light wood cutting etc). Nothing too heavy really and most of work will be done as a team. Afternoon, evenings and weekends the volunteer is free to travel but she is also more then welcome to accompany us in our outings should they wish from time to time to see more places together experiencing things the Italian way (we can go shopping together to get the best food round here, go to quirky places to eat, show you around the best things to do around here).

This is a first for me as a host, having been an au-pair twice as a youngster in Uk. I'm Diana, 33 and a newmom to a lively and sweet 7 mts old "bilingual" baby girl. Also, a proud fur-mummy to a now senior 12yrs old Staffy and in general very passionate about all things natural (think diy cleaning solutions, ayurvedic remedies, yoga, meditation etc!) And of course there is also my hubby who I'd say is the typical "fiery" head of an Italian lol I currently reside back in Italy but used to live in UK (for 7 yrs!) which I can with no doubt call my second home (and which I miss very very much!). I love travelling and experiencing new cultures so I welcome for sure anyone who is willing to share their know how, whether it is cooking or advice on vegetable growing or baby childcare etc I would love for the new person to be like a friend to me and my family and let them feel like at "home away from home", the same way I felt when I used to be an au-pair back in the days! We have the possibility during autumn winter and spring months to host a volunteer and give exclusive use of a bedroom in the flat upstairs with shared use of the other living spaces (bathroom and open plan kitchen/living room) as these areas may occasionally be utilised as a "touch point" by other family members coming over to work in the property and fields. The volunteet can of course use the kitchen in the flat upstairs where they will be staying to cook and eat their own food but she would be more than welcome to eat with us at lunch from time to time and maybe also on other occasions when we could organise some "shared" dinner event (you cook I cook kinda thing just for fun to share dishes and recipes) or have our friends over etc


Reviews

5.0
1 review1

Staff & Host

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Hostel

5.0

Learning & Fun

3.0

Chile

5

I had a good experience in Diana's place.
Is located 20 min. (walking) from the center of San Lorenzo al Mare, a beautiful and small town where there is not much activity but you can take a bus to Imperia where is the train station. Also Diana drives you to the supermarket.
The work was chill. It was focused on helping with household (garden, painting, deep cleaning).
You live in a good apartment with everything you need. You just have to pay for wifi.
I totally recommend this place. Thanks Diana for everything. Thanks for being patient with my English. I hope to see you again.

about 2 months ago


Diana replied

Thank you Ana! Awesome experience together! See you again 😁


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Vegetarian / Vegan

Rural

Contact with animals

Beach

Family