Gut Boltenhof

At Gut Boltenhof, we welcome any person - guest, team member, volonteer, visitor looking forward to make new encounters, aquaintances, friends. Being in the middle of nowhere (even if only 1 hour from Berlin), we wish to give our guests a moment of peace in a loving surrounding. That comes from our hearts. As we know that giving is only working properly when receiving as well, we highly appreciate the perfomance of our team and volonteers, and in addition to all the work on Gut Boltenhof, we would like to value the leisure time value of our employees and voloteers just as much as that of our guests and would like to do our part to increase this value.
As a place to work and live, we believe Gut Boltenhof has the power of creating some very nice memories of your work&travel trip.

We are a familiy run business in 2nd generation. We work hard everyday because we believe in creating a better place of vacation in the present, a place of vacation that one day will become a better future village on the grounds of an old 18th century manor. Doing the best we and our team can, we share the idea of a loving welcome, of creating beautiful holiday memories for our guests and of supporting one another while at work as well as if one of us has a private matter. As a volonteer, you will be a member of our team - it´s that easy. However, from our frist experiences, we feel it necessary to emphasis that we don´t have a "community manager". We invite adults who are self-organized and able to structure their every day life. As the volonteers we invite tell us in advance that they will be very flexible and interested in many ways - of course when arriving at our place we will certainly ask for this flexibility and interest.


(7 reviews)7

Staff & Host


Hours & Tasks




Learning & Fun




Our experience was great! Overall everything was amazing, we had a really nice private room, the host and the people woth whom we work are really nice, flexible and understanding. The food was good, they gave us the necesary ingredients for our meals (for us to cook ourselves), and during weekdays (monday to friday) there was a chef Who cooked for all the staff for midday.
The only thing i would improve is the social aspect, because there were no other volunteers so we (me and my girlfriend) spent a lot of time with ourselves

about 2 months ago



Beautiful place with very nice people. The work we did was in the farm and it was fun for us (like feeding pigs, chickens, donkeys etc), also the work schedule was flexible and the food provided was very good. In low season there is not much people in the hotel or volunteering so it can be very quiet. It also is one hour away from Berlin (by train) and 45’ by bike from Fürstenberg, which are beautiful cities! Also close to the hotel there are forests and fields to take a nice walk. Recommended place :)

2 months ago



I would definitely not rely on the comments as each experience is what you make out of it. My perspective on sustainability and also animals has changed for the better. The people are so lovely and I truly wish them the best. I can also speak German way more confidently now which was on my goals and I am so glad to have achieved it. Everyone was so welcoming and I will definitely miss them. Highly recommend this place!

6 months ago



It was definitely an experience I wasn’t expecting. I loved the people I met and learning new tasks in the kitchen and front area. A great space to be in nature.

8 months ago



This place reminds me of Hotel California by Eagles. If you know, you know.

8 months ago

Jan-Uwe replied

Dear Bruno, I am really sorry you feel that way! You stayed with us for more than 2 (!!) months, you never complained about anything. Whenever asked, you were happy. Whenever possible during your stay, we even offered you a single apartment. You were even asking for the opportunity to stay and applying for a real job. Why, if our place was so unpleasing for you, did you not tell us? Than, we would have had the chance to improve or go separate ways - as sometimes, people just don´t fit. But now leaving a negative review - that´s not fair. Nevertheless, I wish you all the best for your future way.

Perfect for you if you're looking for


Contact with nature


Contact with animals