Help a Family with a Garden, Kids, and Dogs in Seattle, Washington

Seattle is a wonderful city to use a base for exploring the beautiful Pacific Northwest! We live in the University district in Seattle. Our house is within walking distance of parks, grocery stores, and public transportation like the buses and the light rail.

We are always looking for helping hands to help us with the dogs, the kids, the house, the yard, the summertime garden, and the busy life that comes with this stage of life. We are a family of two adults and three children. We also have two dogs, ages 11 and 12 (almost 13). During the school year, the kids are in school, and during the summer, the kids go to day camps. We host throughout the year. There are always plenty of things to do around here. It’s nice to have another person around (in & out of the house) to keep our two dogs company. We can host up to two travelers at a time. Please let me know if you are ok with sharing space with another traveler or if you prefer the room to yourself. I don’t ask women to share space with men and or men to share space with women. Thus, my calendar shows if I have availability for anyone (meaning I have accepted no one for those dates) or if I have space for one man or one woman. Our Place: Our family has a 1200 sq ft house with three bedrooms and two bathrooms. Please keep in mind that our house is small by American standards. The third bedroom is our guest room with queen sized pull out bed and shared bathroom. The bed converts to a sofa when we don't have guests, but the bed has an actual mattress + a memory foam top (no bar across your back). It feels like a real bed. When we host two travelers, we have a second twin sized bed that we set up in the room. The bedroom has a TV for Netflix. We have security cameras that record and send alerts to our phones when the dogs are barking and when people come and go. We usually ignore these alerts. We use the cameras primarily to check on the dogs while we are out. Our beagle can become upset when she is alone, so it's nice to be able to check on her when we aren't home and to know when the dogs are getting restless or need to go out. The cameras are in common areas in plain view. Food: We are happy to share our staple food items with you, i.e. milk, cereal, eggs, things we have in the pantry and refrigerator. You are welcome to eat what we eat. We are not a family that sits down and eats dinner together on a nightly basis. Thus, you should expect to buy some of your own food to your preferences and eat some of our food. Our family’s schedule: We are a family with young kids. The kids are up early every day. Although you are welcome to sleep in, you might find doing so challenging past 7AM if you are sensitive to noise. We supply ear plugs and a white noise machine for your comfort. You are welcome to come and go and keep the hours that you wish, but please understand that if you are regularly coming home in the late evening or past midnight and, then, trying to sleep in, you may be more comfortable with another host. It’s absolutely fine every once in a while, but if going out late every night is your preference, we are not the best host for you. Getting Around Seattle: - Our neighborhood is very walkable! There are grocery stores, parks, and shops all within walking distance of our house. - We have bikes, bike locks, and bike helmets in the garage that we are happy to share. Just ask & we’ll get you set up! - It’s easy to use public transportation from our house. The nearest stop is only a few hundred feet away from our front door. -Getting from the airport (SEA) to our house is easy via one train + one bus. The Light Rail (train) runs regularly from the airport to the Stadium stop, which the stop closest to our house. From there, our house is only a short bus ride away. Next Steps: If you are interested in staying with us, please share a bit more about yourself, why you might want to stay with us, and what you hope to do here in Seattle. Also, please let me know when you have a moment to talk on the phone or video chat in the upcoming days. I also have WhatsApp, Facebook, Facebook Messenger, Apple Messages, and Skype.

New Host

Brand new host looking for people to collaborate with each other.


All experiences

5771665751c055257bb06439f09b2090

Animal Care Child Care Teaching Languages Gardening

View experience

Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Contact with animals

City & Town

Beach

Family