Moonshine Farm

Would you like to experience Swedish TRADITION? This is the place to volunteer! Moonshine Farm is situated in a part of Sweden, called Dalarna, which is known for its cultural heritage. You can also experience really LONG GREEN SUMMER DAYS and LONG WHITE WINTER NIGHTS. Do you want to explore the country? Ask us for advice on what to visit and when. We may even take you on a tour ourselves. Anders and I are so called "moonshine farmers" ("månskensbonde" in Swedish), which means that farming is A HOBBY. Our traditional FAMILY FARM is experimenting with SMALL SCALE vegetable and fruit gardening in a northern climate. A challenge! Typical Swedish: FOREST MANAGEMENT is also part of the business. In the large garden 4 ALPACA´S keep us company. Their wool is a thankful gift, which I transform in CREATIVE WEAVING. Do you want to give us a helping hand? Come live and work at our place and explore the Swedish way of life. Feel welcome FOR LONGER STAYS too. PLEASE ONLY APPLY THROUGH THIS PLATFORM. TIP: When visiting northern countries, always bring warm clothes and walking shoes.

I, Petra (52 years old), originally come from Belgium. I emigrated to Sweden 5 years ago. I LOVE nature, qigong, weaving and silence. I backpacked in my younger years and speak next to Swedish, ENGLISH, DUTCH and some GERMAN, FRENCH and SPANISH. My life would get even more pleasant if I would have a volunteering HELPER IN THE GARDEN and with the animals. Do you sew and do you have a CREATIVE mind? Be welcome to experiment with me with the SEWING of woven garments. Do you like to COOK? Be creative in our kitchen with things like fermenting, berry- and mushroom picking, making jam, slow cooking. I, Anders (61 years old) was raised on Moonshine Farm and so were the 3 generations before me. I have been a truck driver most of my life. So I´m used to a BOHEMIAN LIFE STYLE. I inherited the farm, which was in a really bad shape. Since then Petra and I have been RENOVATING THE PLACE and made it to a WARM, WELCOMING HOME. During SUMMERTIME I can always use a helping hand be it with PAINTING, CHOPPING WOOD, BUILDING a green house, CLEANING tiles, ... From NOVEMBER TO APRIL it would be nice to have some help in the WOODS. Are you a CARPENTER and do you know how to RESTORE OLD FURNITURE? In that case we have some interesting challenges for you too. WORK 4 HOURS a day and enjoy, in return, some Swedish traditional culture, 3 LOW CARB MEALS and a WARM BED in one of the two guest rooms in the house, each room has space for two volunteers max.. Volunteers SHARE a BAD ROOM (also sauna available) and a RECREATION ROOM. Every day you can also attend qigong sessions. HOUSE ROLES: respect the silence, keep it clean and no smoking.

New Host

Brand new host looking for people to collaborate with each other.

Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature


Contact with animals

Yoga / Meditation