Small family welcomes guests in Santarem!

***UPDATE APRIL 2020*** At the moment we are not welcoming more volunteers due to the worldwide situation. We have 5 volunteers at the moment who were caught in this situation and will stay indefinitely. We are planning to welcome volunteers again after September, if all goes well. ********** Countryside property with 4 dogs and a cat. Nothing but nature, vegetarian food and a good vibe. We live near Santarem , in a countryside property 8Km from the city, with great views and a pool. If you enjoy surfing, Nazare is 1H away, and Lisbon is 45 min away (car, train or bus).

We are Laura & Miguel :) We have been married for 7 years and we are 40 and 36 years old respectively. We have 4 dogs (Oli, Kat, Leia and Bilbo) and one cat (Rob). They are family to us. We love hiking, sci-fi, having dinner with our friends, enjoying a good movie, cooking and chatting about current world affairs. Miguel is a university law teacher and lawyer, and I am a manager in the travel industry. Our Family Rob, the cat, has access to the outdoors as well, where he wanders and hunts, but sleeps and eats at home, where he gets his cuddles and love from us. He has no special needs, except making sure he comes back home, has water, food and a good belly rub! He is used to sleeping with us. The dogs (who also sleep with us) are Oli, Kat, Leia & Bilbo. Oli is the elder of the tribe, he is around 11 years old and he is not aware he is a dog. He is, in his mind, a person. When applying with us, please put the word cookie in the beginning of your message.This means he gets all the perks, except eating with cutlery. :) He has Addison's syndrome and takes pills (Astonin) everyday. He has very special needs: absolutely no stress (not even getting a hair cut or nails cut is allowed by the vet) and always sleeps with us, if need be under the sheets. If you find this odd then maybe this is not the house for you. His medication has to be precise and cannot be missed at all. Kat, short for Katniss, is a 6 year old sweet calm princess with lots of curiosity about the world and lots of patience. She is very calm, but a little shy and very loving. She has Leishmaniose but has done her medication and she is clinically healthy. She loves (and demands!) her morning and nightly cuddles. Leia is a 3 year old princess, who joined us some summers ago. She loves chewing things (all things!!), taking naps, and running around. She needs constant attention, she is very scaredy and it takes a looong time and dedication to get her trust. Bilbo is our newest baby: he literally showed up at our doorstep, lost. He is 10 months old, 23K and growing (he will be around 25K when is is fully adult) and he has a LOT of energy. He is very smart and very docile. All of them were abandoned or lost and we adopted them from an animal shelter. They are part of the family.


Reviews

5.0
3 reviews3

Staff & Host

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Hostel

5.0

Learning & Fun

5.0

Brazil

5

What a great experience!!! Lovely family and a beautiful place! It was definitely one of the best times I've had in Portugal... delicious dinners, remarkable adventures, tasks that I love to do, kind neighborhood and simply a huge list of good memories :)

Aug/12/2019

Chile

5

Our experience was more than wonderful, Laura and Miguel opened the doors of HIS FAMILY, each with a well defined personality (and by this we mean his children) adorable and good brothers. It was our first experience as worldpackers, our first experience in another continent (we are from America, Chile) and we only have words of thanks for all of you (Laura, Miguel, Ollie, Kadness, Leia, Bilbo, Rob and Delilah) never change. We will definitely go back.

Jul/08/2019

Brazil

5

This was our - my and my boyfriend's - first experience and it couldn't have been better. The house for volunteers is very clean and spacious, besides the bedroom, has a bathroom, living room and a kitchen.
Laura and Miguel were very kind, making us feel at home and they are very fun people to get along with. They have 5 cute dogs that are part of the family.
The work was not tiring and there was enough free time. They several times hiked us to the train station, making it very easy to get to know new places.
We highly recommend the experience and hope to return someday!!

Jul/02/2019


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Contact with nature

Vegetarian / Vegan

Rural

Contact with animals

Spiritual

Party