Volunteer Experiences

View all

Experience in Poland

Hostel Warszawa, Poland Jan/2020

Arts and Painting & Decorating

Review written by the host

Olivia was a very diligent volunteer and realized interesting decoration projects at our hostel. Very easy to communicate and highly trustworthy. I highly recommend!

  • Painting & Decorating
  • Arts
  • Communication
  • Responsibility
  • Commitment

Review written by Olivia

I had a great experience at Patchwork! I spent three weeks painting some artwork on the hostel's walls. Communication between Tomasz and the other managers was fantastic, which meant I always knew what my goals were and what was expected of me. The staff members were really friendly, there was a nice vibe created by locals and guests, and the hostel's bar was an awesome place to meet people. Thank you for having me, guys!

Experience in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Hostel Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina Oct/2019


Review written by the host

Olivia, such a beautiful person, inside out! If she applies to your hostel, take it as a compliment! She turned a huge wall into a detailed Mandala flower and everyone is very much impressed by it, which is exactly what I wanted, something unique and arty. Her artwork is so unique and beautiful, it's nothing like you've seen before. Olivia is always kind, smiling, socializing with guests, all in all a huge asset with an amazing feel good vibe! Thanx so much Olivia for picking us and making our November this fun and amazing! :) XX, Your Rania Fam!

  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment

Review written by Olivia

I absolutely loved my experience at Hostel Rania! Words can’t describe how warm, welcoming and fun Dino and the team are. The gorgeous little hostel and the people it attracts create such a homely environment. I really felt so comfortable and happy from the moment I came through the door and it wasn’t long before we became like a family. I had to extend my stay because I didn’t want to leave! Thank you, Dino, for being the best boss man I could hope for, and for trusting me to paint on your wall! A truly memorable experience that I’ll be forever grateful for.

Experience in Italy

Home Stay Genova, Italy Oct/2019

Teaching Languages

Review written by the host

We have been lucky to have Olivia as a member of our family for three weeks. She is a lovely interesting, educated, sensitive girl, very empathetic and collaborative. The time spent with her was one of the best moments of our experience with Worldpakers; definitely, we recommend her to all the host. The main task she carried out was related to helping us to improve our English, and she was very good at this, she cooked a delicious Australian meat pie! The day she leaves, it was pitiful for us to greet her. I hope that one day she can come back and revisit us! Olivia, we send you a big hug!

  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment

Review written by Olivia

My experience with Francesco & Laura was absolutely amazing. I can’t recommend it enough. From the moment I met them, they greeted me with open arms and invited me to be apart of their family. They are the warmest, loving, funny, generous and kind people; I feel so incredibly fortunate that I got to spend three weeks with them and their gorgeous dogs because I learned so much and made so many beautiful memories. Thank you SO much for having me, Laura and Francesco. It’s only been a few days but I’m already missing being with my Italian family in Genova!

Worldpackers Gigs

Here are the contributions made to the Worldpackers community


Writing articles for the Worldpackers Blog


Answering questions from other travelers

Articles written as Blogger

Teaching English and becoming part of an Italian family in Genoa

Australian gal who left monotony behind to experience new things, keep learning and make art. I'm a lover of solo travel, keeping costs down, traveling semi-slowly, and really getting a feel for what it's like to live in different countries. Join me as I write about my experiences so far and share some knowledge I've obtained along the way!


  • English
  • Italian
  • German


I'm an expert!
  • Arts 1
  • Painting & Decorating 1
  • Administration
  • Cleaning
  • Content Writer
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
  • Photography
  • Reception
  • Social Media
  • Video Making
Some experience
  • Animal Care
  • Bartending
  • Child Care
  • Cooking
  • Night Shift
  • Party Promoter
  • Social Work
  • Teaching Languages
  • Web Developer
I want to learn it
  • Farming
  • Gardening
  • Handyman
  • Music
  • Teaching Sports
  • Tour Guide



I’ve recently completed a Bachelor of Interactive Media & Design, majoring in Digital Media Design (graphic design, websites, apps, social media and photography) and Computer Games (coding, animation, 3D modeling, virtual and augmented reality).

In addition to the practical sides of design and development, I love reading and writing about game theory, culture and society. I will commence my Masters in 2020, where I hope to study communication or something about how games can help people (for example, through education or mental well-being).

I graduated as the Valedictorian, having achieved high distinctions and first in class awards. I’m proud of these achievements, as they signify my commitment, persistence and attention to detail. My passion for learning is also reflected in my passion to help and teach others. Reciprocal learning is my favourite! I hope to teach at university, so any teaching practice I can get would be tremendously exciting and valuable for me.

Work Experience

I have experience in administration and hospitality.

I have worked in a busy restaurant, fulfilling roles such as hostess, waitress and barista. I really enjoyed this work, as it was people-oriented and I like to be organised in a fast-paced environment. Back home, I work with a catering company, and I love it for the same reasons, as well as how each shift is different.

As for my experience as an Administrative Assistant / Receptionist, I was responsible for keeping the office organised, managing client relations, and helping with accounts. Again, my favourite aspect of this work was the people and creating productive, organised systems that helped others.

Travel Experience

This is my second solo-backpacking adventure, but the first time I have ventured out to volunteer via Worldpackers. I am loving to learn more about different cultures, live with minimal possessions, have new experiences and meet diverse people!

On my trip so far, I've had the pleasure of making art (murals, digital and hand-painted lettering and signage), teaching English and fulfilling hostel roles like "party promoting" (socialising and creating good vibes!) and cleaning in exchange for accommodation and some food. It's been fantastic. I'm keen to keep volunteering as it has greatly enriched my experiences whilst traveling.