Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Kitchen Hand
Help prepare, finish and serve meals.
Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.
Help with changing the bed linens and general housekeeping.
Help with check-ins, check-outs and guest assistance.
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Team Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other people.
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Hello! We are looking for people that want to help us with the first steps of a new hostel in Palermo, Sicily. The help would be breakfast, reception, a little of cleaning and housekeeping . This will start from February so please apply from those dates. Palermo is a nice city to discover and also to go to other parts of Sicily by transport If you are responsible and committed just write us and tell us why do you want to come here!

Learn more


  • Fluent English

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more


Stay at least
4 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

14 Reviews

Host & Staff

Hours & Tasks


Learning & Fun


I had a really great time here, the staff and other volunteers were fantastic. The atmosphere in the hostel was great and the work was easy. The manager Michele was great to work for, he was patient, professional and easy to get along with. I wish I could have stayed longer.



Was definitly a really good experience. The others volunteers and Michelle was like a family for me. The Hostel is really cozy and the work is easy. You will have time to walk around the city and go to others cities too. The location is really good because you can discover ed the city walking. I'm glad had took this opportunity because I will never forgotten



I would like my experience!
Firstly... If you don't like work, do not apply!
It's a great hostel, the Michelle coordinator it's good people.
I almost did not have to buy much for lunch and dinner.Because there were many things for eat there!
Per second
You need work depends on the day
making breakfast and afther clean the beds and bathroom
Stay at the reception Making check in and check out Show for guests the hostel!
It's a perfect hostel if you like job!
Forget what the people talk about hostel, probably they do not like to work!
It's easy work, and you learned a lot of engl


On the Way Hostel replied

Hola Welerson,
thank for your review.
You are a great worker always ready and polite with every guests that we hosts.
It was a great pleasure have you here with us and i hope to see you again in Palermo even like our guest.
I hope the best for you BOA SUERTE y una vita feliz!!!


It's the worst experience I've had in my life. Alexandra is the most inconsiderate person on the planet. The hostel every week is flooded with shit; having to clean up all the disaster; he does not respect work shifts and does not respect what he offers with regard to food or money for it. I have suspended my stay earlier than expected due to the poor conditions in which the volunteers found us. I do not recommend anyone. Palermo is beautiful but there are other options.


On the Way Hostel replied

Hello Pablo, thanks for your great review of the hostel. Obviously this place s not full of shit every week - how could we work if this was the case? You were present in a moment of technical difficulties which had nothing to do with the hostel but with external council deficiencies for which our hostel paid the price. You should assume full responsibility for such shallow feedback. You left early because it was the in-kind offer you accepted for your hard work in helping us resolve the problem. Let's present the situation in it's true perspective. :) Buena suerte anyway, stay cool man!


I had a weird experience... In the beginner I thought that it was a nice place, it's very stylish and everything, my colleagues were very receptive with me and Alessandra as well, but one week after she sent me a message on WhatsApp asking me to leave the hostel without reasonable reasons, she just said that I didn't have the profile of the place, I asked if I could be better but she didn't give any chance or explained why. The job is a bit hard on the morning and afternoon shifts but it's ok, on evening is very calm and it's not too much job.


View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by On the Way Hostel

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 40% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in Less than a day

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Verified Members

Become a member

Want to travel the world with Worldpackers?

Volunteer abroad and immerse yourself in new cultures while getting free stays with hostels, NGOs, farms, ecovillages, and tons of other incredible work exchange opportunities in 100+ countries!