Needs help immediately

7 travelers applied this week

Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h
Hours per week

Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.

Arts

Professional painting, sculpting or drawing.

Painting & Decorating

Help to maintain the appearance inside and outside the building.

Handyman

Help with a wide range of repairs.

Gardening

Help to grow and cultivate plants.

Learn more

What you get

2
Days off per week

Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.

Shared Dorm

Be ready to meet people while staying in a shared dorm.

Tent

A billion stars over your head and a comfy tent to sleep in.

Breakfast

Get your free breakfast, the most important meal of the day.

Lunch

Free lunch is served y'all, get yours!

Dinner

Have your free dinner before going to bed.

Cook your own meal

Feel free to prepare your own meal here

Discounts on Drinks

Drink up! Get discounts and order a few drinks.

Free Laundry

There's a special place where all the clothes get cleaned for free.

Free Hiking Tours

Keep your feet moving! Get free hiking tours and exercise yourself.

Free Drinks

Drink up! Get free and tasty drinks for yourself.

Bikes at your disposal

Hop on my bike, baby! Free to use bicycles.

Pick Up

No worries! Get a free ride to get to our place.

Support
Support

Worldpackers team will guide and advise you before, during and after your trip.

Verified hosts
Verified Hosts

Every host in the community is checked and approved by our team.

Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance

Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.

Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

I need help with some repairing and to take care of the garden, harvest vegetables - when it is time collect apples - and make forest work. Some help with neighbours with their problems, or have some freedom and peace by doing other things around. Design nice pictures and letters for to make the building nice. I make also a stage in my farmerhouse. If you have any other ideas, tell me! =)

Learn more

Requirements

  • Intermediate English or Intermediate German

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Dec
Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Stay at least
1 week
Stay up to
1 month

Talk to those who have lived the experience

26 Reviews

Host & Staff

Hours & Tasks

Farm

Learning & Fun

Brazil

Overall it was a good experience. It doesn't have a good location if you plan to travel around. The work is easy, and I think the key to have a good experience is communicating with the host to avoid misunderstandings.

8 days ago

Germany

Alexander ist a friendly host with a big heart. Although he never traveled much and despite of the German nature to not trust a foreigner, he invites people from all over the world to join him at his home and guesthouse and to help him with different tasks in his house. The most important task hereby is cooking for him (special diet, but easy to follow the "plan" of does and don't) and other volunteers. Because Alex has many different plans in order to fulfill his life, he gives people different tasks, fitting to their skills and possibilities. Thanks for the great experience.

11 days ago

Nicaragua

I felt at home while at Alexander's. The work is not hard and you have plenty of time to relax and explore but it's not so easy either. Alex is very open-minded, open-hearted and straightforward. It's a good place to take a break from city life and enjoy a nice quiet time getting to know Schwäbisch Germany and people from all over the world.

12 days ago

United Kingdom

Alex is a good guy with a bubbly personality. The work is easy and you might be lucky enough to meet some good people. The location itself is quite remote so can be quite hard to get around with limited public transport. This village is beautiful and also rather cheap. Be aware this also not a hostel yet, as it is in the works, its more like a workers home.

14 days ago

Brazil

show

16 days ago
View all reviews

About Alexanders Strawhotel

Ebb5632f734f927b4a94f662f308841f
  • Hosted by Alexander

  • New
    Recently Online
  • Response Rate: 100%
  • Response Time: A few hours

About the host

Welcome at my home. I'm Alexander a stonemason, living in Baden-Würtemberg, a county of Germany. My farmhouse is located in a little village called Heuchlingen, here people speak "Schwäbisch" Dialekt. Heuchlingen is a lovely little village, surrounded by breathtaking nature, hills, forrests and farms. Nearby you can find lakes, old roman paths and over 40 old castles, an old Staufercity, named "Schwäbisch Gmünd", where emperor Barbarossa l...

About the host

Want to live this experience?

Travel exchanging your skills for accommodation in hostels, NGOs, ecological projects and so much more.