8 travelers applied this week

Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h
Hours per week

Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.

Cooking

Prepare meals for guests.

Kitchen Hand

Help serving and organizing meals.

Learn more

What you get

2
Days off per week

Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.

Shared Dorm

Be ready to meet people while staying in a shared dorm.

Tent

A billion stars over your head and a comfy tent to sleep in.

Breakfast

Get your free breakfast, the most important meal of the day.

Lunch

Free lunch is served y'all, get yours!

Dinner

Have your free dinner before going to bed.

Cook your own meal

Feel free to prepare your own meal here

Discounts on Drinks

Drink up! Get discounts and order a few drinks.

Free Laundry

There's a special place where all the clothes get cleaned for free.

Free Hiking Tours

Keep your feet moving! Get free hiking tours and exercise yourself.

Free Drinks

Drink up! Get free and tasty drinks for yourself.

Bikes at your disposal

Hop on my bike, baby! Free to use bicycles.

Pick Up

No worries! Get a free ride to get to our place.

Support
Support

Worldpackers team will guide and advise you before, during and after your trip.

Verified hosts
Verified Hosts

Every host in the community is checked and approved by our team.

Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance

Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.

Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

We are on the pilgrim/bike way to Santiago de Compostela, so this is a place for these travelers to sleep and stay for some nights. Also I like to build many things by myself, artistic paintings and gardening. My house uses renawable energy and I want do even more! I have a food issue with Histamin intolerance, and need people to help me to cook healthy food! To cook food from my garden! Since I am not able to travel, the world visits me! =)

Learn more

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Aug
Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Stay at least
2 weeks
Stay up to
3 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

5 Reviews

Host & Staff

Hours & Tasks

Farm

Learning & Fun

Mexico

I really enjoyed having the opportunity of helping Alex, he is so nice and he really enjoy to learn about all the cultures that he receive. The work is easy and he teach you every time he has the opportunity. It is a peaceful place to spend time.

13 days ago

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Staying at Alexander's was one of the best stays I had as a volunteer. This was a very good experience although it was my first I enjoyed it to the max.

about 1 month ago

Brazil

Stay with Alex in the Strawhotel for sure is one of the best experiences I have in my life, the work is very easy and knowledge, Alex explain why plans do kind of things, in the kitchen you learn how to use many spices from all around the world, he accepted different cultures and only ask to respect the house rules, that are more than fares.

For sure is not a place to party and that what makes the place even better, is a place to learn about culture, plants and history. That is the best school you can find.

about 1 month ago

Israel

Alexander is a good person that is really interested in getting to know new people and has an amazing home with eco friendly system!
It’s not really a guest hous, but a farm with crops and a beautiful scenery. You’ll get to work at the farm, have meals together and sometimes go out on the weekends for cool activities. Alexander was very considerate of my back problems and always tried to give everyone work that suits them.
Would definitely recommend (:

about 1 month ago

Brazil

Alexander is a great company, it was great to be able to work with him and share so many stories and recipes. The work follows the hours and all the information in the job description. I learned a lot and hope to be able to come back at another opportunity! Super recommend it! Viellen Dank für alles!!! :D

2 months ago

About Alexanders Strawhotel

Ebb5632f734f927b4a94f662f308841f
  • Hosted by Alexander

  • New
    Recently Online
  • Response Rate: 100%
  • Response Time: A few hours

About the host

We are typical german area "Schwäbisch" Dialekt. I am a host like to share time with you and sometimes we are work together. We are looking to some events and traditional here around and visit them. Also I know to cook and clean, gardening, cook from gardenvegatable, woodofen, barbecue. At autum we want collect apple to give to a "Mosterei" for to have the own applejuice . . . that we drink every day. Here is natur around, silence, farms ...

About the host