Help us as a bartender!

4.5
44 reviews44

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Hostel

4.0

Learning & Fun

4.5

France

3

Overall it was a good experience but due to some lack of organization sometimes some people would do way more work than others or less than others (i was in these 2 types of situation). Anyway it was a chill place and if you want to discover the real French culture you definitely need to come here. Thank you again to Stephane and Émeline :)

about 1 year ago

Japan

3

The treatment I received was really as if I was there just to work. There is no cultural exchange or fun. Mer is such a small city so you have no much to do, you don't even seeing many people on the streets. They say "bike disposal" but during my stay there, all the ones were broken. I have no complaints about the worked hours, it's fair enough. In my personal experience it was kind of frustrating, but I think it might be because I didn't arrive in a good time. I do recommend if you are looking for a place to relax or running away from big cities.

over 1 year ago

Brazil

5

It was a great volunteer experience for me. I learned a lot with everyone, and I leave it with the certainty that I left my mark, I tried 110% to do the best job that I can hostel in exchange I received much more than I imagined from people. If you go ,be sure that it will be very well received, and a small town, has few inhabitants, a great place to rest and, the local commerce closes at 7 pm, after that the people meet in the Hostel area where the bar and restaurant are. I recommend also to learn basics of French, or google translate... Also go to visit around Mer,Chambord , and Paris...

about 2 years ago

Mexico

4

I was there for one week, the activities are so easy, the hostal is quiet and good place to rest.
Stéphane (owner) is so kind and you can feel comfortable with him.
The neighborhood is quiet and not to much to do but in the bar you can meet cool people (if you speak French)

about 2 years ago

Mexico

3

I learnt a lot and have a lot of fun at Felicidade hostel. It’s important to communicate from the beginning the days off and the hours of work per day. Stephane and his team were great! I practiced my french, went to beautiful places by bike, learn to play pool, swam at the public pool and have a great time. Thank you!

over 2 years ago

Mexico

3

Everyone exceptionally friendly. However the number of hours we were asked to work & the days off we were given where not respected. There where days we worked 6-10hours a day and after 2 weeks of work, we only had 1 day off. We decided to leave 3 days earlier because we were tired with this situation. The bedroom we were first asigned was cozy, the 2nd room we were asked to change had leaks, was really dirty and with nowhere to put our things in. On the other hand we had acces to a pool & bycicles. Recomend coming here only if you eatablish a priori days off and hours pf work.

over 2 years ago

Kenya

5

I worked more days and hours each day but this was a personal choice.
Gisele, Emily and Dominique are nice people to work with. My favourite was the bar shift with Dominique. Me and the other world packer worked the full bar shift from 7pm to midnight because we really enjoyed it. It was not something we planned, but we lost track of time because we were having so much fun.

Once you get a hang of how to do things, its easy sailing from there.

over 2 years ago

Serbia

5

The best treatment I've ever had! Stephane's one of the kindest people I've ever met - caring, protective, and supportive, always made sure I was fine. The work is flexible, everything is done in agreement with the team and everybody functions together like a big family. The hostel is a big, beautiful, well-equipped house. Mer is a very small town, lovely and well-organised, so if you're looking for peace and quiet and the place where you can easily meet locals and hang out with them, this is the right place. Most clients are also very nice, helpful, and friendly. Unforgettable experience!

over 2 years ago

Brazil

5

Felicidade Hostel was great! The hosts are fair with all that is describe here. When you arrive, Stephane comes to ask you what you want to eat and he buys everything that you ask, very kind! The hostel is very close to the train station, which is amazing to know the near cities and I loved the Val du Loire, the place where Mer is, it's magical, with a view!

about 3 years ago

Brazil

3

Stephani, is great! He will help you as much as he can. The Hostel stays ditry frequently, because of the manager and crew don´t clean their dishes, bathrooms (that you share) and space after they work, especially on those days that Stephani goes to Paris
The working time is flexible, but sometimes you don´t know what time you should start next day until is late of the nigth
You will work at the breakfast, cleaning the rooms and at the bar. At the bar is really good to develop your french and know the people from the town (who are nice)
Mer is a small city, but you can visit many castels

over 3 years ago

Apply Now