About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Farm Sligo, Ireland

4.5
6 reviews6

A farm in Irland needs your help =)


Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Connect with nature
A traveler recommended this experience for reconnecting with nature
Needs help immediately
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Housekeeping
Help with changing the bed linens and general housekeeping.
Kitchen Hand
Help prepare, finish and serve meals.
Cleaning
Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Free Tours
We’ll take you on tours and rides around town. For free!
Free Hiking Tours
We’ll take you on excursions and hikes around town. For free!
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Language lessons
Take free language classes at our place.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

I live in the beautiful Ox Mountains and I can accept two friends or a couple with a car or motorbike? I buy all foods, you prepare own food. Outside kitchen with fridge and washing machine.Electric shower and toilet. Garden and field weeding / cutting blackberries, ! Mulching with compost/seaweed. Self-isolating under Covid19 restrictions, as I cannot transport you in my car. Double attic bedroom with own private exit and warm Central heating.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Beginner English or Intermediate Spanish
  • Between 18 and 30 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Stay at least
6 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

6 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.0

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Farm

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

1 Get in touch with nature

Argentina

5

Lizzie is a very good woman who offer’s her place if you want to go out the city and have a farm experience with horses :).
The place to sleep and the food 10 points 🤲🏻.

Sep/14/2020


Lizzie replied

Great skilled helper a kind thoughtful interesting person to share my little farm. Highly recommended to all other hosts. Best wishes for your future in Sweden Keep in touch, you will have a brilliant job cooking in a fine hotel if they give you the one chance!!

Spain

2

My experience in Lizzie's farm was a bittersweet experience. In one hand, the work to do was easy and not so hard (in my chase, clean the place where the horses live and prune a garden), Lizzie provide us all the food we need, I had a private room and she help me to improve my English. In the other hand, I finally leave the farm earlier because in sometimes she didn't speak well to me and I didn't like some manners. I talked with her about this and it repeated again and finally I told to her my decision to leave the farm. She didn't give time for make a plan and I had to leave the same day.

Feb/19/2020


Lizzie replied

Carlos was not a compatible helper in my farm, I do not yell at people, however as a retired teacher, I am assertive, and my British voice is strong. I do not behave like a sweet old woman, to a helper who is overly demanding, and has no manners or understanding of discussion or a different point of view to his own?

Spain

5

Lizzie is really nice and heartwarming! She has a lovely place prepared for helpers and she was really concerned about my wellbeing and comfort.
This was a great opportunity to improve my language skills and learn how the countryside life is like :) Don't expect this to be a luxurious place, it's just a simple, quiet and comfy farm on a beautiful mountain.
I really enjoyed my time there, thank you, Lizzie <3

Jan/16/2020

Spain

5

Lizzie is wonderful. On her farm there are always tasks to do, she always explains them patiently.
The farm is in the countryside and is great for being with animals and nature.
Of course I recommend it

Dec/06/2019

Spain

5

My exprience with Lizzie have been amazing. She's very beatiful person and helped me with a lot of things. I was feeling very good and she toke care me all the time, and she help me for improve my english.
It is a rural place, and you are far from any important city. If you need time for yourself and contact nature, this is your place. Take care well because now winter and bad weather begin, and the heat was missing when you stopped working. for everything else, it was perfect.
I will always be grateful. How did I say to her, the Irish grandmother!
You are a person with a great heart!!

Oct/29/2019

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Lizzie

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

Certificate

Courses

Learn from influencers and community experts. When you complete a course, you earn a certificate in your profile for the new skill you’ve just developed.

Worldpackers Community

How to become an outstanding Worldpacker

  • 20min
  • 4.6

How do trips with Worldpackers work?

With the WP Trips and WP Pack plans, you can contact the host of your choice and travel safely as often as you like.

Step 1

Apply for as many volunteer opportunities as you want

Step 2

Chat with hosts and ask questions about the position

Step 3

Check the necessary documentation if you want to go abroad

Step 4

If you are approved for volunteering, confirm your trip on the platform

Step 5

Pack your bags and travel like a local!

Step 6

After the experience together, you and the host leave reviews

Check out all our plans