About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Guest House Lochailort, United Kingdom

3.5
5 reviews5

Enjoy this natural paradise and help us!


High demand host
This host has received 5 applications recently. We recommend you apply for other positions too.
Learn about sustainability
2 travelers learned about sustainability working with this host
Expand your environmental consciousness
2 travelers felt they returned from this experience with a greater environmental consciousness
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Handyman
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Child Care
Help look after, educate and instruct children.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Free Tours
We’ll take you on tours and rides around town. For free!
Free Hiking Tours
We’ll take you on excursions and hikes around town. For free!
Get free drinks or beverages.
Drink up! Get free and tasty drinks for yourself.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Hey! We need help assisting in both household duties and outside chores: cleaning, making beds, laundering, pressing, helping with kids and cooking. Outside jobs relate mainly to looking after chickens, ducks, dog, maintaining the grounds and garden, weeding and looking after veggies and the poly tunnel. Your daily routine of 5-6 hours is divided into a series of time chunks in order to maximise your help exactly when we need it.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Intermediate English or Intermediate English
  • Over 18 years old
  • Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Stay at least
4 weeks
Stay up to
3 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

5 Reviews

3.5

Host & Team

3.5

Hours & Tasks

3.5

Guest House

3.5

Learning & Fun

4.0

How this experience will transform you

2 Developing environmental awareness

2 Learning about sustainability

2 Practicing English

2 Get in touch with nature

1 Developing social awareness

1 Meeting locals

United Kingdom

4

This was good experience, I got to actually do things I set out to do and experience the duties I wished to. I got to be in the mountains, I got to feed the dogs, ducks and chickens. I got to learn a little about self sustainability, making own compost and planting seeds. I also got to travel a little in nearby towns. I will miss Gary, and the animals.

Overall a good experience. I would recommend to anyone that would like to try living in a rural area in the countryside.

However do be aware that weather changes ever so quickly and many times in the day.

3 months ago

Costa Rica

5

My experience since I got here was amazing, Gary and Katie have three lovely little kids and all of them made me feel like part of their family. I would definitely recommend this place, there are so many ways to help, new projects that could need more hands, but always make sure to bring the best attitude possible and give always the best of you, they really appreciate this. There is nothing is too hard, It's all abut loving nature, animals and be flexible enough. I'm leaving knowing I found a new family in Scotland where i'll definitely come back.

over 1 year ago


Gary replied

Thank you Juan - you are amazing and we all were very sorry to see you go. It was a real pleasure to host you under difficult circumstances and in strange times. Your flexibility and real desire to be of help is a glowing example of how volunteers can make things work. Our location and situation with using our home as a business is not understood by all and we really appreciated your co-operation and understanding that the guests come first! Thanks again and we hope you enjoy your next stay. Always welcome back here anytime :-)

Spain

2

Para mi fue, en general un buena experiencia pero no es un sitio que recomendase a nadie por las siguientes razones:
-Los anfitriones no te tratan como un huésped porque tu no estás pagando por estar ahí y el hecho de que tu vayas a trabajar no es razón suficiente para tener una habitación propia, privacidad y espacio. Durante mi estancia aceptaron a dos huéspedes y quisieron meterme en un trastero repleto de cosas y con la intención de utilizarlo como comedor.
-Hice más trabajos que los especificados en su página, como tareas del hogar.
-Las horas de trabajo son más de las especificadas.

about 1 month ago

Spain

5

La experiencia fue muy buena allí en Lochailort. El sitio es un lugar de Escocía cerca de increíbles rías, montañas e islas, además de muy bonitos pueblos todos conectado por carretera o tren. Dentro de la casa tuve que aprender a hacer distintas tareas de las cuales se me hicieron difíciles al principio pero más adelante se hacían rápido y fácilmente, hay que ser paciente para aprender como funciona bien todo. La familia me acogió muy bien y Gary y su esposa me ayudaron a aprender cosas que después me van a ser muy útiles. Son muy amables y flexibles.

9 months ago

Brazil

1

Definitivamente a pior experiência de todas que já tive! Resumindo: me colocaram em uma casa de madeira fria e sem banheiro, onde não tinha acesso a sanitário e chuveiro. Condições precárias para residência. Detalhes me mandem mensagem no particular.

almost 3 years ago


Gary replied

So pleased we have the right to reply. Your review is not only incorrect but blatant lies. We explained everything to you very clearly and you had options for bathroom and shower. You came directly from a climate where the temperatures was 46 degrees - to the Highlands of Scotland - what exactly did you expect? This is our summer and temperatures are normal here for this time of year. The cabin is insulated and you had the fire on so it was like a sauna when I came to see you there. You left with no notice after just three days and Liliana doing only 5 hours work because we were empathetic to your long distance travel. We explained the reasons why temporarily everything was a bit chaotic and if you had tried to understand our business and stayed for longer you would have a much better understanding of how not only business works, but what customers needs and expectations are as well as the very high standards we set. They are the most important - not you and not us. We gave you spotlessly clean accommodation which has been used without complaint by many previous helpers and volunteers without any complaint. You left it in a total mess - complete with empty beer cans, cigarettte butts, suitcases with clothing and your soiled underwear. Nice!! A complete lack of understanding, commitment and willingness to learn - interested only - repeat only - in your needs and not to satisfy any of ours. We contacted your previous host hotel in India and were told that you were even worse there - not willing to listen to instruction, nor to work and were drinking and very demanding of them - and in the end - you did a disappearing act before your time was complete, the same as you did with us. Any potential hosts beware this couple as it looks like they only want what is best for them and cannot discuss issues but choose to 'run away' from any problems. Bad attitude and poor collaboration with your hosts.

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Gary

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours
3 published videos
This host has 3 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Step 2

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Step 3

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with hosts.

Step 4

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Step 5

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Step 6

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers and become an Explorer.

Step 7

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

Step 8

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on WP Insurance and our support team!

Step 9

After your exchange, leave and receive reviews and become an Expert.

Step 10

Volunteer with other hosts, get more reviews, and participate in the WP Programs.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works