Help out at our Permaculture Farm, in central Southern France!

5.0
11 reviews11

The Exchange

We have a small permaculture farm of 10 ha in central-southern France, which is a work-in-progress, as are the farm buildings. We are looking for a few extra pairs of hands to help with the renovation work, farm work and helping around the house. Join us! We are located about 20 minutes from Tulle, the nearest town, in the middle of Correze, known as the "Green Country".


Title

25 hours of help per week

Handyman: Help with a wide range of repairs or building.

Gardening: Help grow plants and cultivate gardens


What you get

2 days off per week

Shared Dorm: You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.

Breakfast: You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.

Lunch: You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.

Dinner: You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.

Free Laundry: You can use our laundry room freely.

Bikes at your disposal: You can use our bikes any time you want.

Pick Up: We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.

Use our equipped kitchen: Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.


Requirements

Over 18 years old

Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs


What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa


Program Details

We are a vegan family and while we do not expect our Workawayers to necessarily be vegan, we do expect them to respect that our home is vegan. We speak English (native), Japanese (native and near-native), French (near-native and intermediate) and Spanish (beginner), so guests could practise any of these languages. Workawayers would also have the opportunity to learn about renovation and/or permaculture, and spend time in a lovely part of France. On our farm we grow raspberries, blackcurrants, blueberries (plants are only in their early stages) and most fruit and vegetables that are compatible with our climate. We have two dogs; Bruce (German Shepherd) and Milo (Havanese terrier - our elder statesman) – both of whom are very friendly.


Activities & Shift

We are not looking for people who are necessarily experts (we are certainly not experts ourselves), but people who are interested in our project, able to think on their feet, and willing to get in and give a hand, whatever the task may be. Possible tasks may include: eco-renovation of an old stone building, mulching, weeding, brushcutting, collecting firewood, and general help around the house. We expect workawayers to work 4-5 hours per day.
We also try to have one person who can take care of Everleigh for a couple of hours a day, and help with housework. This person should have some experience in looking after babies, and be happy with not using their electronic devices whilst babysitting.
We try to be flexible with working hours and trust our workawayers to keep an eye on their own working hours, and expect our workawayers to also be flexible and punctual.


Rules

We expect our workers to work hard (as we do ourselves), but we also have a good time doing it! :)