Needs help immediately

5 travelers applied this week

Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h
Hours per week

Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.

Reception

Help with check-ins, check-outs and attend to guests.

Kitchen Hand

Help serving and organizing meals.

Housekeeping

Exchange and wash bed linens. Make the beds.

Cleaning

Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.

Learn more

What you get

2
Days off per week

Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.

Shared Dorm

Be ready to meet people while staying in a shared dorm.

Breakfast

Get your free breakfast, the most important meal of the day.

Free Laundry

There's a special place where all the clothes get cleaned for free.

Support
Support

Worldpackers team will guide and advise you before, during and after your trip.

Verified hosts
Verified Hosts

All hosts are checked by our team & ambassadors to ensure high-quality listings.

Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance

If you are unhappy with your host, we will pay for your accommodation.

Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

We offer an allround job with some responsibility, which adds to the fullfillment of the job. Cleaning is a big part of the job, but also welcoming guests from all over the world into the beautiful city of Ghent. Most of the working hours will be during the weekends, but there will be plenty of time left during the week to explore our wonderfull city, country or even neighbouring countries.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Intermediate English and Intermediate Spanish

  • Over 19 years old

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sep
Oct
Stay at least
4 weeks
Stay up to
3 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

30 Reviews

Host & Staff

Hours & Tasks

Hostel

Learning & Fun

Colombia


364/5000
Katrijn and Bart are very correct people, kind and flexible, they are quiet people with good energy, the hostel is very quiet and cozy, the city is spectacular, I loved its university atmosphere and quiet, it is also close to meet other Cities that are very close by train as brussels, witches and antwerp, I recommend them.

14 days ago

Brazil

The experience of working at Kaba Hostel was by far the best exchange that I ever had in my life! Katrijn and Bart are really (really) nice people and they care about you so much. The hostel is beautiful and very clean. It is one of the best one that I have already stayed. The breakfast is full of things and so delicious. The guests are very nice! I miss that contact! It NOT a hard job.. very easy! But you need to be commitment with your tasks and schedule. It is a business from someone that are giving you the chance to work there. Be responsible! Thank you for the opportunity again! See you!

about 2 months ago

Colombia

I really enjoyed my experience with this cool family. The hostel is great and the job is not hard at all., really. flexible and easy. They are always taking care of you and trying to make you feel like in home. I miss you Katrijin and Bart, was so nice to be part of your team. Hope to see you soon.

2 months ago

Argentina

Highly recommended! Bart & katrejn are wonderful people who really care about each backpacker,they provided everything we need and where always there for anything we ask.The hostel is beautiful,comfy and superclean.And yes you have to clean bathrooms but theres nothing to worry about as they are usually clean.So if you are afraid of cleaning a toilett better stay where you are because you are a fool.

3 months ago

Mexico

Im not like the Kaba Hostel, and im going to be honest with my review.
To start with they have no staff, only backpackers so they will leave you the whole hostal to you on your 2 day. The job was ok, only the cleaning was a little bit harder. At first the owners were nice, until i had a problem and had to be back to my country and he started to talk as if he knew me telling me that i was trouble.

The hostal is nice, but the owners aren't that much.

I CANT LEAVE MY WHOLE REVIEW HERE, SO HERE IS A LINK FOR THE WHOLE REVIEW
Part1 https://flic.kr/p/24jA4yb
Part2 https://flic.kr/p/24jA4v5

3 months ago

Katrijn replied

Hello Orlando, thank you for your honesty, I am not going to disagree with you, we did not share the best of times at our hostel, apparently we have totally different opinions about what in expected of a Worldpackers. But I am glad you made it clear to others that we try to maintain high standards at our hostel and expect our Worldpackers to do the same. We realize the work can be hard at times but we never ask anything of our volunteers that we don't do ourselves, like cleaning toilets and combining cleaning and reception. We ask honesty, commitment and responsability of the people we accept to volunteer, and when we get that, we treat all volunteers with respect and gratitude.
I am sure your review will give a clearer view to others on what it means to be a part of our hostel, so thank you for that.

View all reviews

About KaBa Hostel

1 lounge
  • Hosted by Katrijn

  • New
    Recently Online
  • Response Rate: 90%
  • Response Time: 2 days

About the host

We are a small, cosy, friendly hostel with a warm, authentic atmosphere, run by it's two owners (and their two little girls ;-)). We like to distinguish ourselves from the big party hostels through these caracteristics. The artwork from local artists, on the walls all over the hostel, make our place unique and colourfull.

About the host