About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Eco Lodge Aude, France

4.5
7 reviews7

Are you lovely with animals? If yes, this position is perfect for you!


High demand host
This host has received 4 applications recently. We recommend you apply for other positions too.
Connect with nature
3 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Connect with international travelers
2 travelers recommend this host to meet travelers from all around the world
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

I have a lot of amazing nice cats and 1 lovely dog. I have also a digital job and not enough time for all of this! I would be very grateful if you could help me with the animals. They need a lot of care and a mountain of love. I feel guilty to have not enough time to give them all the attention that they need to be happy. If you are crazy cats lovers, you will be happy here!

Learn more

Requirements

  • Beginner French or Beginner English
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

Whats Not Included

Topics Not Included

Learn more

Availability

Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Stay at least
3 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

7 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Eco Lodge

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

3 Get in touch with nature

2 Meeting international travelers

1 Developing social awareness

1 Developing environmental awareness

1 Meeting locals

1 Learning about sustainability

United States

5

I enjoyed my time with Danielle, the cats, and the dog. I had a nice little life for the 20 days I stayed (originally scheduled for 15). I had a bigger project that I was able to take personal satisfaction in completing during my time there, and the work gave me the opportunity to reflect as I did the labor. I also chopped wood for the fireplace that we used in the evenings and on rainy days. Danielle provided a variety of tasty warm meals for dinner, usually salads for lunch, and plenty of coffee and bread to start the day. I recommend this experience for self-motivated and open-minded people

10 months ago

Korea, South

4

Danielle is a nice person, the house is big and needs a lot of hands on help

11 months ago


Danielle replied

Hi Marco : It's thrue : I need help. What a pitty that you are allergic to cats. I was so lucky and happy to find you ! Hope the best for you.

Brazil

3

The cats are truly amazing, I do love them like they are my own children. Her dog is also the cutest thing ever, despite her gigantic size. She will lay on her belly ASAP and will always welcome you with her gorgeous dog-smile.
The house is so beautiful, but to keep it clean is too difficult, so expect some dust and spiderwebs around.
Danielle surely needs the help around, but I do think she could be more open and interested in the volunteers and their cultures. I guess we just didn’t click that well and that made her a little difficult host.

11 months ago


Danielle replied

Bonjour, J'ai ressenti la même chose que toi : j'ai eu le sentiment que tu ne t'intéressais pas du tout à l'endroit où tu te trouvais. Il m'a été très difficile de communiquer avec toi. J'ai ressenti une vraie incompréhension de ta part envers ce que je te demandais. Lorsque l'on voyage dans un pays, on y va pour découvrir sa culture. J'ai essayé de te parler de la France mais tu n'étais pas ouverte à ça et en plus, la communication était très difficile en raison de la langue. Tu es une jeune femme sympathique et je pense que cette première expérience pour toi te fera réfléchir à ce que tu attends vraiment de la découverte d'un autre univers culturel. En tant que volontaire, ou en tant que personne venant dans mon pays, c'est à toi de t'adapter et pas à moi de prendre le rythme brésilien. Si je le souhaitais j'irais passer quelques semaines au Brésil et j'essayerais tout, absolument tout, ce qu'il y a à essayer là-bas, y compris la cuisine locale et les musées, et la rencontre des habitants, pour m'intégrer et m'imprégner de leur culture. Pendant ce temps, je renoncerais à ma culture pour bien me plonger dans cette nouvelle expérience.
En tout cas, tu manques aux chats : ils t'aimaient beaucoup.
Je te souhaite une belle suite dans tes aventures et un peu plus de joie à la découverte de ce que tu rencontreras sur ta route.
Amicalement
Danielle

Germany

5

The time with Danielle and her cats was a nice break from the hectic everyday life. Her place is in the middle of nature.
I thank Danielle for her hospitality and trust.

12 months ago


Danielle replied

Thank you Doreen ! You are home in my house whereever I will go : you are amazing !

United States

5

In my experiences as a volunteer to date , I can say without reservation, Danielle is the best host I have the pleasure of helping. top!!!

As for the exchange, I feel that I received all the benefit of her vast creativity and experience. From Design, decoration, care of cats. Her insights, knowledge and compassion for animals and people alike are a treasure and her style beyond compare.

I would also like to express Danielle is a rare gem in a sea of pebbles, I counter her among my close friends and family for the rest of my existence. I love all the cats and kittens.

Ask me

about 1 year ago

View all reviews

About the host

Hosted by Danielle

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 80% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member