Hostel Coolangatta, Australia

25 reviews25

Let your artistic side go wild!

Host%402x Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Hurry! 7 travelers applied this week
Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Painting & Decorating
Help with painting or decorating the property facilities.
Help with painting, graffiti, sculpting or drawing.
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

We are looking for an artist to brighten up some of our freshly painted walls, to add a splash of color and uniqueness to our hallways and to basically make the place look awesome! We are open to ideas and would love for you to be able to paint/draw whatever you feel like. Though all ideas would need to be submitted to us first, we're not too fussy! Photos of your artwork will need to be sent to us before approval.

Learn more


  • Intermediate English
  • Over 18 years old

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more


Stay at least
4 weeks
Stay up to
6 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

25 Reviews

Host & Staff

Hours & Tasks


Learning & Fun


It was the best choice to start my travel around australia, I had the best time there. The job is pretty easy and you have a lot of free time to enjoy the beaches and everything. I met the best people I could meet and im already missing them and the hostel.
Thank you guys for everything.


United States

Best experience I’ve ever had, i made friends that i still talk to today. I really recommend staying at this hostel !!!



BEST: - Volunteers, they were best people. WORST: 1.My wallet fell from my bag near the pool and a guest took it. Two witnesses saw him I notify the managers who have told me that could't do anything . Asked them to check the cameras and refused. I lost my ID and AUD 200. They allow enter any person without any control. 2. Location is in the middle of nothing (3 km to market). 3. For these situations I decided to leave before. I notified 8 days in advance and they kept my AUD 100 deposit saying that I had not stayed the 6 weeks. I didn't break anything and I did my job correctly all time.


Cooly replied

Hey Matias,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're so sorry you were a little disappointed with your stay.
I totally understand how horrible it must have been to lose your wallet. We really did try our best to get to the bottom of what happened but the area wasn't covered by our security cameras and the guest in question offered up his luggage for us to check and nothing was found.
We do state in our description that we have 4 courtesy bus runs into the town centre per day, so we assume that people will realize that we're not centrally located when applying. "The middle of nothing" might be a bit steep though, the beach and some shops are within 5 minutes walk.
You didn't receive your deposit back because you didn't stay for the time you agreed to, it states in our "House Rules" that this is the case, you also signed an agreement when you arrived stating that you understood the terms of your stay. You leaving early meant we were understaffed over our busiest period.
During your stay we had no idea you weren't happy with us, we're actually quite shocked by your review, I wish you had told us while you were here and we might have been able to do something to make your stay more enjoyable. Again we're very sorry you didn't have the best experience and please know that we will strive to be better.
Thank you for all your help while you were here, and we wish you all the best in your future travels :)


I'm so happy to be part of this hostel, I had great experiences and made great friendships. Thank you for the unique opportunity to be with you. See you!!



Excellent team, volunteers, management and staff. I totally recommend it


View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Cooly

Host%402x Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in Less than a day
1 published videos
This host has 1 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Verified Members

Become a member

Want to live this experience?

Travel exchanging your skills for accommodation in hostels, NGOs, ecological projects and so much more.