About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Oropesa, Peru

5.0
5 reviews5

Teach the kids your language (English, French, Italian)


Connect with the locals
3 travelers recommend this host to have close contact with locals
Practice Spanish
3 travelers recommend this host to practice Spanish
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

10h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Teaching Languages
Teach a language to guests or local communities.
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Our goal is to offer kids the best education possible so any knowledge you can share is welcome (languages, maths, arts, plants, computer, etc.). Azul Wasi recives volunteer from all over the world. Men and women who feel it into their hearts the need to help and ecxchange culturally with different countries. Volunteers can come directly to the orfanage from Cusco after having coordinated with the director.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Intermediate Spanish
  • Over 18 years old
  • Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs

Whats Not Included

Topics Not Included

Learn more

Availability

Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Stay at least
1 week

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

5 Reviews

5.0

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Orphanage

5.0

Learning & Fun

5.0

How this experience will transform you

3 Meeting locals

3 Practicing Spanish

3 Get in touch with nature

3 Creating true social impact

2 Meeting international travelers

2 Immersing in the local culture

Czech Republic

5

Azul Wasi is a place like no other.
I only spent three weeks at the orphanage, but cannot even begin to describe how difficult it was to say goodbye.
It was beyond incredible to witness the love between all children and adults, whilst getting to become a temporary part of this beautiful family.
This truly was a unique and eye opening, once in a lifetime experience that I will forever be carrying near and dear to my heart; just like the kids.
Muchas gracias por todo, Azul Wasi. Los extrañaré a todos!

4 months ago

Portugal

5

Great experience!!

11 months ago

Spain

5

Tal y como indica el nombre Wasi en quechua, Azul Wasi es un HOGAR con todas las letras. Ha sido una experiencia 10. Alcides es una persona admirable, muy respetuosa, amable y implicada con su proyecto. Realmente ha sido un regalo conocerle y poder aprender de toda su experiencia y sabiduria. Toda la gente que forma parte de Azul Wasi, como David, la señora Luz y la señora Filomena, son personas con un gran corazón. Los chicos estan llenos de valores que no se aprenden en ninguna escuela, y la vivencia con ellos ha sido increïble. Muchas gracias, Azul Wasi!

6 months ago

Brazil

5

Minha experiência no Azul Wasi foi incrível! A casa que recebe crianças esta localizada no meio das montanhas. A rotina é muito tranquila: estar presente, brincar, ajudar nas tarefas de casa, ajudar na cozinha e estar atenta às necessidades de cada um. As pessoas e o lugar são muito acolhedores: existe calma, comida saudável e privacidade quando quiser! Recomendo essa experiência para quem quer se conectar com crianças, praticar espanhol, conhecer a culinária peruana e viver uma imersão cultural. É uma experiência única e maravilhosa!!

6 months ago

Portugal

5

Esta foi a melhor experiência da minha vida. Aqui fui muito feliz e aprendi muito mais do que ensinei.
1 mês é o tempo ideal mínimo para ficar no orfanato, para criar relação com as crianças e estabelecer laços e rotinas.
Recomendo vivamente a todos os que queiram passar a ver a vida com os outros olhos!

10 months ago

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Alcides

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 40% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in Less than a day
1 published videos
This host has 1 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member