About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Eco Village Lavaux-Oron District, Switzerland

4.0
2 reviews2

Rédaction pédagogique pour projets sociaux et culturels


Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Connect with international travelers
2 travelers recommend this host to meet travelers from all around the world
Learn about sustainability
2 travelers learned about sustainability working with this host
Needs help immediately
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

30h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Content Writer
Write, edit and publish inspiring content.
Learn more

What you get

3

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Free Events
Get free entrance for the best events in town.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Bonjour. Nous habitons dans deux écovillages créatifs en Suisse. Nous mettons actuellement nos divers sites web à jour, nos dépliants, livrets, livres... On cherche une personne qui aime écrire (rédiger), saisir, modifier, mettre à jour, sélectionner (voire faire) des photos. Des experts techniques vous forment/accompagnent pour la partie édition de site web (sous Wordpress). English is a plus, mais français est la base pour cette mission.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Fluent French or Beginner Portuguese
  • Over 18 years old
  • Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Stay at least
8 weeks
Stay up to
6 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

2 Reviews

4.0

Host & Team

3.5

Hours & Tasks

3.5

Eco Village

5.0

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

2 Meeting international travelers

2 Learning about sustainability

1 Practicing English

Brazil

3

I spent 3 weeks in Smala and I learned a lot. The house has an awesome view of the lake and of the vinos. I need to warn, especially girls, that the place has a lot more men and that didn’t make me feel comfortable. I applied to do one kind of job and I ended up doing another one, even though they told me this would change with time. Hours of work are usually not assigned until either the night before or first thing in the morning and you need to fight for your days off. I was supposed to stay for 2 months, but I left early.

Aug/13/2020


LA SMALA replied

Hello dear volunteers,

We started in June 2020 receiving volunteers via worldpackers, after the confiment. Our ecovillage team received about 12 volunteers this summer 2020, medium average 4-6 together, including from Worldpackers, workwaway, helpx ... Most of the volunteers asked to stay longer, and were happy. Julia was an exception. She requested money to help on the bar for a party, and repeated many times that her father was lawer, threathening our manager, we we did not like it, but stayed cool. It was her first experience as volunteer, she had no previous experience in housekeeping, nor in social media management (she was studying, second year). We invited her to use a time tracker to manage her hours, and she did not use it. Her activities were as planned in her contract : diversified, and open to dialogue if she wanted to change the type of tasks.

We wrote her before receiving her :
50% housekeeping at the beginning
50% social media on second part of her stay

Julia left before second part, and did not ask for dialogue fbefore deciding. She preseted her her excuses for not having asked for dialogue before, and recognized she was impulsive. She explained us that she always had a woman taking care of washing her clothes and cleaning daily in her house in Brasil, since her early age up to now, and not having experience in cleaning often her own place, because coming from a high class family with father lawer. We felt Julia was somehow partly a trouble seeker, intringant, paying more attention to possible difficulties then opportunities, easily afraid of new things. It's just a feeling, we did not her well enough to judge seriously. We simply did not feel confortable enough with her presence, after trying to please her with quite o lot of special favour (offering her a travel and leasure experience to a flight simulator, teaching her lots of basics such as how to make tea, use cleaning products...).

At the difference of what she pretends in her comment, they are more women then men in our little community (15-20 persons), out of which 5 woman aged 35 to 75, always at disposal to guidance and mutual help.

Besides, we sign contract with volunteers mentioning that both parts can stop anytime, without motivation. So we were relieved when Julia announce her she is leaving without previous dialogue, due to her very demanding behaviour. We wish her the best, considering she might have been into a personal difficulty during her 2-3 weeks short stay, everything was so new for her due to her lack of experience in volunteering, and she might see more positive things later.
Time will speak.

Ireland

5

Very nice place to work.

Aug/05/2020


LA SMALA replied

Thanks Dylan. We are happy you decided to stay longer, and it is a pleasure having you still in our community. Your contributions where helpful.

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by LA SMALA

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 50% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 4 days
7 published videos
This host has 7 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

Certificate

Courses

Learn from influencers and community experts. When you complete a course, you earn a certificate in your profile for the new skill you’ve just developed.

Worldpackers Community

How to become an outstanding Worldpacker

  • 20min
  • 4.6

How do trips with Worldpackers work?

With the WP Trips and WP Pack plans, you can contact the host of your choice and travel safely as often as you like.

Step 1

Apply for as many volunteer opportunities as you want

Step 2

Chat with hosts and ask questions about the position

Step 3

Check the necessary documentation if you want to go abroad

Step 4

If you are approved for volunteering, confirm your trip on the platform

Step 5

Pack your bags and travel like a local!

Step 6

After the experience together, you and the host leave reviews

Check out all our plans