About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Farm Haute-Vienne, France

4.5
7 reviews7

Stay in a historic house and help with household and animals


High demand host
This host has received 4 applications recently. We recommend you apply for other positions too.
Practice English
4 travelers recommend this host to practice English
Connect with international travelers
2 travelers recommend this host to meet travelers from all around the world
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

32h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Handyman
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

I am a mature British gentleman with a passion for animals, especially horses and upcycling of antique furniture. You could for example help me with animal care (especially the dogs and horses, no riding), organize the cooking, help with housekeeping, set up the garden for the next gardening season or engage in renovation, fence repair or construction projects. If you have allergies to animals or nature this placement would not suit you,

Learn more

Requirements

  • Beginner English
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Stay at least
3 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

7 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.0

Farm

5.0

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

4 Practicing English

2 Meeting international travelers

2 Get in touch with nature

1 Meeting locals

1 Developing environmental awareness

1 Developing social awareness

Brazil

5

If you like (want to go) a farm’s atmosphere, there is the place for you... Horses, dogs. Paul is a lovely, open minded person and care a lot about the people. And he is an excellent cook, I have tried so many new dishes there.

I think I would not have a better place/person to stay as my first experience at WP and abroad, he taught me a lot about EU culture. I made a friend.

Thank you, Paul, for everything! I wish the best for you! I will miss our conversations.

15 days ago

Malaysia

5

Paul have a very amazing place! you will definitely improve your English if you intend to improve it as Paul is very cool and correlate of your mistakes. it will be very good for those who are I to continues improvement in life. please be hu.ble and kind and not to forget Paul if an amazing guy to be with!

22 days ago

Brazil

5


My experience at Purcy was great. Paul is really a great person. The farm is beautiful, very cold in winter, lots of hard work. An unforgettable experience!
Unfortunately, I left early for some personal reasons.
if you like nature, want to disconnect a little, I really recommend the experience.

about 2 months ago

Italy

5

Purcy is an awesome place where you can meet wonderful people. The place is quiet and peaceful, perfect for disconnecting from the rest of the world.
I think that hard work helped me understanding what I am really able to do and made me feel good both physically that mentally.
Paul is an awesome man, always ready to do anything for his animals and teach you something new.
I hope to be able to come back to this wonderful place soon!

5 months ago

Spain

5

My days in Purcy were fantastic…
It was my first experience as a worldpacker and it couldn’t be better!
Hard work in the farm made me increased as a person and I learned so many things about horses and life.
The sunsets, the cats, the dogs, the chickens, the horses… it’s amazing to live in a place like that.
Paul is an incredible man, we already have a very good relationship and he taught me many things about the farm and the animals.
I met a lot of nice people and I will miss very much the life in Purcy.
Thank you Paul for my time in Purcy.
I will come back!

6 months ago

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Paul

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 100% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in Less than a day

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirm your trip with all the Worldpackers safety.

Step 6

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact.

Step 7

After your experience together, you and your host leave reviews.

Step 8

Sign up for our WP Programs to earn some money while you travel.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works