Building a Tiny Home Eco Village in the Mojave Desert, California

4.5
12 reviews12

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Eco Village

4.5

Learning & Fun

5.0

How this experience will transform you

9 Learning about sustainability

8 Meeting international travelers

7 Get in touch with nature

6 Developing environmental awareness

5 Meeting locals

5 Practicing English


Colombia

5

An unforgettable life experience, every day was a different adventure, the desert isn't a place for everyone and that's why the moments you live there are unique. Erik is a wonderful host, dedicated and committed to building a sustainable life and community in every way. In 2 months I was able to design and build in earth, plastic, wood and glass, learn about solar water and electricity systems, natural and passive methods of heating and cooling, composting and gardening, plus I went to an oasis, hot springs, rock climbing, hiking and more. Tranqvillium become my home and I'll surely come back

3 months ago

United States

3

This experience was definitely something I will never forget. I met so many amazing people and got to experience so many amazing things but there was a downside in the experience involving the host. The host had good intentions but had instances where he made me and my friend feel uncomfortable. He ended up setting unrealistic expectations on us which resulted in us switching to an exchange program nearby that was a much better environment and learning experience. Overall I think the desert is a beautiful place full of magic and self discovery and should not be taken for granted.

3 months ago


Erik replied

Darcy's review is a perfect reminder for everyone: if you do not 100% agree with the "Survivor's Guide" that will be provided to everyone prior to their commitments, If you are not 100% certain that you can honor your commitment, work with enthusiasm and identify with Tranqvillium's values and goals, please do not come here. This place is for people who are radically committed to giving their best in order to create a sample environment of sustainable living. We are operating on a ridiculously small budget, that would not even suffice for a small family in the mainstream society, and anybody less than immensely committed to make things better would be a drain on our very limited resources and result in a less than happy experience for both sides. Thank you for being considerate of this.

United States

5

Erik is an insanely generous, and friendly host. The first week of my trip was just Erik and I. I never once felt unsafe by myself and Erik immediately felt like a long time friend. He went out of his way to take me to town with him and do some fun activities. I appreciated that all food was provided and that Erik would pick stuff up from the store I wanted, but please don’t come here to take advantage of that and expect caviar and lobster. Despite the listed positions you will help with all aspects of life on tranqvillium which I really liked. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any Q’s

4 months ago

United States

2

This was my first worldpackers experience and it was definitely a very mixed one. The people I met were amazing and the desert was such a magical place to be. However, there were many conflicts with the host that ended up resulting in him asking us 4 volunteers there at the time to leave and find other arrangements. The way the experience is presented is very different than the actual one, and was unfortunately not the right fit. Overall, it was a great learning experience in ways I didn’t expect and for that, I do not regret volunteering here. I wish the host all the best in the future.

5 months ago


Erik replied

“Conflict” = Check-in meetings at the end of the first week, where both parties constructively discuss necessary adjustments and/or changes, and at the end of the second week, where the implementation of those are reviewed by both sides and a decision whether we can continue can be made by either parties. Everybody during the Zoom interview is informed of this process.

“him asking us … to leave and find other arrangements.” = After the second week check-in during which the current two work-exchangers have decided that the standards, and operating rules of the community were not ones that they were willing to commit to, we have arranged for them to transition to a nearby project, (less than a mile away) the format and principles of which were in much better alignment with what the two work exchangers were looking for. As per the feedback of the leader of that project, it was indeed a better match for both of them.
“The way the experience is presented is very different than the actual one”- We provide a eight page “Survivor’s Guide to Tranqvillium” document (created by a former work exchanger) describing our community in much detail to all applicants. If that is acceptable for them, we conduct a roughly 40 min to 1 hr video interview where we talk through every aspect of living here and provide unlimited time to ask questions. We constantly changing the form and content of our application process to make sure that the experience is as clearly communicated and understood as possible. We are making the changes and updates based on the feedback the work exchangers are providing. When we get specific criticism, or suggestions for changes, if it is in alignment with our principles, we immediately integrate the change in our processes. This experience will not be any different in that sense.

It is not possible to fully avoid mismatches, but we do our best to minimize them. In the unfortunate event when it happens, we provide a dignified and convenient exit for both the person who is not happy with our way of life and for Tranqvillium equally, regardless of whose choice the discontinuation was.

About 90% of what Tranqvillium is, has been built by enthusiastic work exchange visitors. We rely greatly on the fresh energy, insights and determination that people from the outside can bring into this social experiment which is radically different from what most people have experienced before. Nevertheless, Tranqvillium is an intentional community that is organized around the 8 basic principles that are outlined in the “Survivor’s Guide” and are non-negotiable. It is extremely important to understand those and decide whether those are acceptable for anyone who wants to be a part of this family.

United States

5

First is, I would like to mention that I only spent about a week or less there. This place is one of a kind. Sleeping in a tent in the desert is unique. There was a pretty small group of around 5 people excluding the host. Everyone was very nice to me. The dinners are nice because everyone sits together and talks about their life and what they are feeling about current events and past events. There were a lot of dogs there and it was fun to play with them. sometimes it felt a bit primal because of how close to nature you are. This is a niche experience for specific people.

6 months ago

Estonia

5

It's a very nice place to go. You can learn new things and get out of your comfort zone. On weekends we always went to new places and had fun activities. Also got to meet some awesome people and made new friends :)

11 months ago

United States

5

This was a great first experience. I was able to learn something new, meet new people, and all in all grow personally. Erik has big plans and I am excited for him. If anyone wants to have a humbling experience on how little you can survive with and help practice your handyman skills, I recommend.

11 months ago

United States

4

I was glad to have had this travel opportunity and to see the Mojave Desert

12 months ago

United States

5

Erik is AMAZING! He has created a wonderfully, magical place that I would recommend to anyone looking to get away from everyday life and stresses of the world we live in. The night sky out in the Mojave Desert looks like something out of this world! You really feel a sense of community as soon as you arrive at Tranqvillium. I've made some of the best memories here and met people I now consider my family!💜💙💜💙💜

12 months ago

United States

5

Tranqvillium is seriously a magical place. The host, Erik is kind hearted and devoted to this project but also to having fun and going on adventures. This is a place to learn about yourself and a self sustainable life. To live outside of society’s normalcy and to live out here in nature. A great place to disconnect and to learn what teamwork is. Get ready to learn and grow here. I decided to stay, couldn’t imagine leaving this place!

about 1 year ago

Apply Now