About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Farm West Dunbartonshire Council, United Kingdom

4.5
3 reviews3

Looking for an animal lover/plant enthusiast to care for natural life


Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Connect with nature
2 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Expand your environmental consciousness
2 travelers felt they returned from this experience with a greater environmental consciousness
Accepts couples and pairs of volunteers
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Handyman
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

We're looking for an open-minded, friendly, hardy all rounder who enjoys all weathers. If you are a non-smoker, versatile and have a cheerful personality you can come learn about growing, maintaining the animal housing, cooking for the group, chopping wood, and all self-sufficiency tasks.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Fluent English
  • Over 18 years old
  • Accepts solo applications and also couples and pairs

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Stay at least
4 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

3 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.5

Farm

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

2 Get in touch with nature

2 Developing environmental awareness

2 Learning about sustainability

Germany

5

My stay at Kennels Cottage was truly a treat! Mary is a great host, who treats you like one of her own children! Very loving, comforting and always with a great story in her backhand at lunchtime! I enjoyed my stay very much, learned a lot about nature, organic growing, working with animals and to get in touch with the beauty of scotland! The work can get demanding and a little bit muddy, but that's what working on a farm is all about, isn't it? 😊
I can recommend her farm without hesitation and would love for you guys to experience, what I was able to experience!

about 2 months ago

United Kingdom

4

They made my stay happy and l had a lovely time

3 months ago

South Africa

5

Kennels Cottage is a wonderful experience. I was there just over a month, tending goats, gardening with Echo, and feeding the cats and ducks in the evenings. Altogether the work is varied and interesting and deeply rewarding. Echo has a great deal of experience in life and farming to impart to her volunteers, and throughout my stay she was gracious and accommodating. It is a model farm of its kind, despite the pandemic and its challenges, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. My warmest regards to you both, Echo and Albert. Thank you again!

7 months ago


Mary replied

Thierry proved to be a great volunteer: generous with his time, thoughtful towards others and kind to the animals. He came warmly recommended by a previous host and we were not disappointed. He carefully and honourably carried out all his promised tasks and then, several times a week as an extra, enthusiastically joined in the work other people were doing with me, adding strength, hard graft and interest which added to everyone's enjoyment. I could trust him with the animals requirements and to keep to the times he said.Everyone here liked him and we would welcome him back here any time.

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Mary

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 80% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in A few hours

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirm your trip with all the Worldpackers safety.

Step 6

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact.

Step 7

After your experience together, you and your host leave reviews.

Step 8

Sign up for our WP Programs to earn some money while you travel.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works