Homestay Brooklyn, United States

11 reviews11

Join Us as a Household Helper in Brooklyn, NY!

Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Immerse yourself in the local culture
6 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Connect with the locals
4 travelers recommend this host to have close contact with locals
Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Child Care
Help look after, educate and instruct children.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Hi, I’m looking for help with everyday chores ex. Cleaning, organization, cooking, help with my dog boarding business, yard work, childcare. The guest must be motivated and proactive. MUST be an animal lover! We are super friendly and laid back. We speak Spanish and English. We love to have guests over and will make sure you are comfortable and happy! You are welcome to the food in our refrigerator and can prepare meals as you like!

Learn more


  • Intermediate English or Intermediate Spanish
  • Over 23 years old
  • Be from outside United States
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more


Stay at least
3 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

11 Reviews


Host & Team


Hours & Tasks




Learning & Fun


How this experience will transform you

6 Immersing in the local culture

4 Meeting locals

4 Practicing English

2 Developing social awareness

2 Meeting international travelers

2 Practicing Spanish



I'm very thankful of my time in the home, the place is very comfortable and everyone is really nice. Sidnia is very warm and welcoming. In regards of the tasks, they are things that everybody could do. Basically, flexibility and animal love is what you'll need the most if you decide to stay there.

3 months ago



I love my time in NY and I so thankful for this experience. Sid is a good person and she always help me to learn more things to improve my skills And I love to work with dogs, they're so cute. Sid was also very patient and understanding with my issues with my flights. Thanks for that Sid ❤️ I recommend this to everyone, this culture exchange was wonderful. And I also met other volunteers who were wonderful with me, including especially Lila and Flavia. thank you girls for helping me with everything.

3 months ago



I loved my stay at Sidnia's house. Would love to come back!

4 months ago



Getting to know NY is a dream and this volunteer made it happen for me. In addition, I still had a private room, incredible space, food and I could prepare meals in a good space. Volunteer chores were normal housework and it was nice to help with the dogs. Sidnia is so amazing, sweet, how wonderful it has been for me every time. I am very grateful for my time here. Note: your house is about 1 hour from the Manhattan subway, I prefer to skip my days off and try the whole days!

9 months ago



So far this experience was one of the best things that happened in my life. Sidnia and her kids are fantastic, we created a very strong bound and I hope to meet them soon!

about 1 year ago

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Sidnia

Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 20% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 6 days

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Choose your plan to travel with Worldpackers as many times as you like.

Complete your profile, watch the video lessons in the Academy, and earn certificates to stand out to hosts.

Apply to as many positions as you like, and get in contact with hosts.

If a host thinks you’re a good fit for their position, they’ll pre-approve you.

Get your documents and tickets ready for your volunteer trip.

Confirm your trip to enjoy all of the safety of Worldpackers.

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact on the world.

If anything doesn’t go as planned with a host, count on WP Insurance and our support team!

After volunteering, you and your host exchange reviews.

With positive reviews, you’ll stand out to hosts and get even more benefits.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works