Help us to keep this place shining

4.5
33 reviews33

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.0

Hostel

4.0

Learning & Fun

4.0

How this experience will transform you

4 Meeting locals

2 Meeting international travelers

1 Immersing in the local culture

1 Developing social awareness

1 Learning about sustainability

1 Practicing English


Brazil

4

Me and a friend stayed for 12 days. We worked as cleaning/housekeeping. Nancy, one of the owners, is really sweet. She gave us ride, took us to see Coronado and was really pleasant. The hostel is in a amazing location, really near the Gaslamp Square. About the work: just the schedule/time was a little hard, besides that it was nice. Since I was with a friend and we decide to help each other, we didn\'t have much free time during the day. We became friends with other volunteers and other guests.

about 3 years ago

Azerbaijan

4

I did the housekeeping/cleaning service. It’s a good hostel, in a great location, you can do everything by foot. The staff has their own room what makes everyone easily become friends.
Was a great experience and Nacy, the host, is the sweetest person ever.

about 3 years ago

Brazil

5

This is a wonderful place! the hostel is right in the center, close to all the places that you can visit. The city is beautiful and you will be able to know many things. Nancy, Amy, James, and all the folks at the hostel are good people. And if you come you must to taste Nancy's brownies, they are the best in the world! The work in the hostel is not heavy, you can work and have fun after your work hours, they always comply with the agreed and if you have any problems you can talk directly with them. It was definitely the best experience I've had and I hope to one day be able to return.

over 3 years ago

Brazil

5

The overall experience at Hostel on 3rd was a good one. I miss the friends I made while I was there, the volunteer staff was like a little family far away from home. Nancy, Amy, and James made sure I felt comfortable. As mentioned in previous reviews, the one thing that could be improved is the miscommunication between regular staff and volunteers, sometimes things can be confusing. The volunteer work hours are not bad and they are flexible if you need day offs, but you need to communicate in advance. I recommend this experience :)

over 3 years ago

United States

4

The staff made me feel very welcome right when I got here. The owners are so nice and even threw me a surprise birthday party! They are very flexible with scheduling. This allows you to be able to see as much of the city as you can while you are here. There's a little bit of miscommunication among staff but other than that I've had a good experience here!

over 3 years ago

Germany

4

Hostel on 3rd was a good place to stay at. It is in a good location in San Diego downtown and everything is very accessible from there. The rooms are okay, pretty much what you would expect from a Hostel, although it can sometimes be a bit dirty. James, Amy, Nancy and all the other staff are super nice and will help you out wherever they can. And since the hostel usually has a lot of volunteers, you won't have a problem meeting new people either. Overall I'd say it was definitely a good experience, and San Diego has a lot to offer.

over 3 years ago

Mexico

2

Good location, the work hours are good and flexible and smoking and drinking it´s allowed in the hostel. I'm grateful for the experience because I learned a lot about the culture and they made me a birthday dinner but they are very cheap people in every way, THERE ARE COCKROACHES EVERYWHERE, the communication it's terrible, James doesn't know about social interactions and Chris it's a very stressful person you have to do only how he likes it, you cannot think by yourself plus they will put you in uncomfortable situations with guest because they like money and if they can get it they will.

over 3 years ago

Brazil

4

It was a good experience, the hostel is located in a good neighborhood and they do what they said on the site. But the work sometimes is heavy, and they treat you as a real employee, with no concerns if you over work, or complainnig f if you forgot some task. They could enhance the hostel place, consider the guest reclamations and give a better conditions to volunteers, because they does not spending with employee wages.

over 3 years ago

United States

4

Awesome location in San Diego. I legitimately believe the owners and upper staff mean well, everyone made me feel very welcome. There are some inefficient communication and management processes that make the environment more complicated and high stress than it should be. Totally recommend the place, just be prepared to play by their rules.

over 3 years ago

United States

5

From the second I arrived everyone made sure I felt at home. I definitely a strong family atmosphere there. The location was great, right in the middle of the gaslamp district where all the fun happens and not too far from everything in San Deigo. I was there over the holidays and they even got all of us staff presents and made it feel like we were all celebrating at home with family. Everyone looks after each other here. The building is old and is no 5 star hotel, but I feel like as far as hostels go its pretty standard. I miss everyone very much and I plan on going back when im in town again

almost 4 years ago

Apply Now