1 traveler applied this week

Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h
Hours per week

Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.

Handyman

Help with a wide range of repairs.

Learn more

What you get

2
Days off per week

Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.

Team Dorm

You're part of a team! Get to know them in your dormitory.

Breakfast

Get your free breakfast, the most important meal of the day.

Lunch

Free lunch is served y'all, get yours!

Cook your own meal

Feel free to prepare your own meal here

Free Laundry

There's a special place where all the clothes get cleaned for free.

Free Tours

Don’t miss a thing! Get free tours and explore.

Free Hiking Tours

Keep your feet moving! Get free hiking tours and exercise yourself.

Dance classes

Rock your body! Join our dance classes.

Holistic Therapies

Join activities related to self-knowledge and meditation.

Support
Support

Worldpackers team will guide and advise you before, during and after your trip.

Verified hosts
Verified Hosts

Every host in the community is checked and approved by our team.

Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance

Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.

Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

We are a married couple in our 60's. Love outdoor lifestyle walking cycling and our Connemara ponies. We downsized to a small cottage to refurbish, overlooking forest and wild heather mooorland. We have to renovate a derelict garden, clear scrub in wild flower reserve, general tidying up of site. Accommodation is a log cabin adjacent to the cottage, very basic. Use of shower room in our cottage and share home cooked meals with us.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Fluent English

  • Over 20 years old

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Mar
Stay at least
2 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

2 Reviews

Host & Staff

Hours & Tasks

Farm

Learning & Fun

South Africa

A marvelous retreat of a house in the North Yorkshire Moors. I was treated so nicely and the work was engaging and interesting. .. I learnt a lot!
Mick and Ange are so friendly and welcoming and they fed me so well!
I would highly recommend this farm to anyone who is interested in horses and/or wants to learn about them. Ange is a encyclopedia of knowledge and can explain and teach you so much.
I felt so at home here . Be prepared for warm stove fires and long interesting chats.
Thank you guys for the fun experience!

about 1 year ago

Mexico

It was an amazing experience I am really thankful for this opportunity and Angela is a nice person, she was always there to support me. I want to come back. :-)

about 1 year ago

About South Moor

Dad507887da4816d3d37bc2a6b51271c
  • Hosted by Angela

  • New
    Recently Online
  • Response Rate: 100%
  • Response Time: 5 days

About the host

Stunning location next to Forest and Moor with great access to walk and cycle but 10minute drive / regular bus route to busy Market town of Pickering. One hour from beautiful University City of York. 6acres of Grassland and 2 acres of wild woodland quarry we plan to restore as a wild flowers reserve wth the help of the North York Moors National Park volunteers. So lots of brush and weed clearance and bonfires starting from 2018.

About the host

Want to live this experience?

Travel exchanging your skills for accommodation in hostels, NGOs, ecological projects and so much more.