CASA Ecologica Paraty

I have a guest house in the front of my property (I live in the back ) that I rent out on Airbnb and other sites. I am slowly incorporating ecological principals into the property and home with the intention of not only offering a more ecological experience for guests but also with the idea of creating a space that can be a model for other residents in terms of applying permaculture and ecological concepts to the urban area. Volunteers will be involved in preparation and reception of guests (occasionally), but mostly yard work, gardening, cleaning, wood work (sanding, staining), and maintenance. I will be putting together larger projects at certain times that will require volunteers with more experience in building and permaculture (adobe pizza oven, water capture, natural pool). I have a Master's degree in Agroecology and have worked for over 15 years in organic agriculture, but mostly in the certification area. I have a small garden that I am working to expand and volunteers looking to learn more about gardening are also welcome. Current available dates in August: August 1 to 3, August 9 to 17. After August 30, inquire for availability.

I grew up in Eugene, OR in the United States, but have been living in Brazil for around 15 years. I am involved in various educational projects in Paraty, as well as am part of several popular cultural music groups (maracatu, tamor de crioula, caixa do divino). As a result I am usually very busy and may need to leave a list of things to be done while I am out. I expect volunteers to be resourceful and independent and to ask questions whenever they have doubts so that things can be done without too much of my direct supervision. However, whenever I can, I enjoy working with volunteers in the garden and on tasks. During my free time I enjoy taking volunteers to experience the different music groups I participate in, or to see local attractions, have a nice dinner together, or go out for a drink or to see a band in town. I provide a double bed in an area in my house (separated by a black out curtain) or in a guest room in my house. Sometime you will be provided with a room in the guest house . I do not provide groceries or food for volunteers. Depending on how things go, we sometimes cook together and share costs. However, there is a full kitchen available and markets nearby. I have two bikes that both guests and volunteers may use to get around, that I also expect volunteers to help keep working.


10 avaliações10

Anfitrião & Equipe

Horas & Atividades


Aprendizado & Diversão


Foi lindo! Lena é uma pessoa incrível e explicou direitinho todas as tarefas.

O espaço é maravilhoso, todo ecológico e no coração de Paraty. Recomendo!


Reino Unido

A Casa Ecológica Paraty is a wonderful place, great facilities, beautifully decorated and super peaceful. Lena is super chilled and trusting, leaving worldpackers to set their own hours, therefore the work is suited to someone with initiative and autonomy. But there's also opportunities to socialise with other worldpackers, the host and guests, we shared a lovely meal together! The hours leave plenty of time to explore the city of Paraty, and to enjoy the relaxed surroundings of the house.



A Casa Ecológica é um lugar muito confortável e aconchegante. Lena foi super atenciosa e respeitou as atividades descritas na oferta de trabalho voluntário. Os horários de trabalho foram bastante flexíveis e dentro do combinado. A Casa Ecológica ainda tem muito a contribuir para Paraty e para os turistas e foi muito bacana ajudar a Lena a construir esse sonho e desenvolver o espaço.



obrigado pela oportunidade!



Thanks Lena for the welcoming! There are so much pretty things to do with your place! Hope you'll manage to keep straight with your great projects!


Ideal para você se estiver procurando por

Contato com a natureza

Vegetariano / Vegano

Cidade Média / Pequena