Karen's Place

*****COVID note: I am 69 years old, so I’m going to try to be very, very careful re: infection. I need people who are vaccinated. No ifs, ands or buts.******

Anyone who loves animals and living in a rural environment will love my place. It's just me and my animals on five acres, and workers can know any help they give will be totally appreciated. The work is easy and there's lots of time for relaxation.

I am almost recovered from both a broken leg and hip (I'm currently using a walking stick and walk slowly) so I may ask you to do a few things to help me out. (Cleaning, laundry.) But nothing hard.

And almost everyone falls in love with my animals when they get here. But unfortunately, I cannot have any dogs (neither I nor my critters get along with canines) so if you're traveling with one, please don't apply.

I guess the best way to put it is like family. I've been doing this for a number of years now, and have people who would come back in a heartbeat (Covid and visas permitting.) We like to have a good time; I'm very knowledgable of what there is to see and do in the area; and I love playing tour guide. Because I've had some recent flakes, I want to make clear this is a rural, dusty, oft times dirty environment. It is NOT the Ritz. And Roswell is a small town, and I'm on the outskirts, with no public transportation. I give everyone lots of free time, but if I ask you to do something, I expect it done. If you are new to this, and don't think you can handle this type of environment, please do not apply. I'd rather not disappoint you.


(11 avaliações)11

Anfitrião & Equipe


Horas & Atividades




Aprendizado & Diversão


Estados Unidos


This was my first Worldpackers trip and it was a great intro. Outside of feeding the animals daily, the tasks you complete are kind of up to you. Karen is very lax and allows you to choose tasks that suits your interests. There was plenty of free time to explore and I loved spending time with all of the animals. I will truly miss them.

3 meses atrás

Estados Unidos


This was not a good experience for me. My biggest complaint is that I had no way to get meals. The kitchen was torn up which I can accept as it was part of the work exchange— to put in a new kitchen counter. But, there wasn’t any area to prep food. The place was very dirty. She is using the bathroom sink to wash dishes. I didn’t trust the food in the refrigerator. Many items were moldy. I had to go to restaurants while the host did errands and buy my own meals. I only stayed 4 nights.

4 meses atrás

Karen respondeu

It's very interesting that she didn't tell me ANY of this until she'd already made the decision to leave. If she had, I could have easily cleared the big table and made lots of room for food prep and eating. (And maybe we could have even put bins on the table to wash the dishes.)
And yes, a few of the items in the fridge were moldy. I get my food from a food bank and if it's something I don't like eating and my guests don't eat it it goes bad. But if she had pulled things out they could have gone in the trash or compost. Again, she said nothing.
It's sad when people don't know how to communicate then blame everything on the person they're NOT communicating with.

Estados Unidos


Karen is a very welcoming Host, Running to town and showing you around, And even allowing use of a vehicle or bicycles. I very much enjoyed my stay there. Though I do believe that there are some things. People should realize when coming to Roswell, New Mexico LOL.
It's in the middle of the desert, And while there are aliens and caverns and lakes and interesting things to see, You can get pretty much everything done in a couple of Weekends. So if you plan on staying for months, You might want to take things a little slow .

4 meses atrás



Karen’s place was a great introduction to the WorldPackers experience. She was an excellent host that went above and beyond to make our experience memorable. Despite her injuries and difficulty getting around, Karen was willing to help us out and take us to different sites around New Mexico. I personally cannot drive her stick shift vehicle but she was more than willing to let others who did borrow it.

The work is reasonable and not at all overwhelming. There is always something to do and a project to undertake on her property.

8 meses atrás

Reino Unido


Karen is a great person always willing to help and explain whatever is needed.
The work is easy to understand.
It's great if you like animals, especially cats😁
I was very fortuned to find this place

9 meses atrás

Ideal para você se estiver procurando por

Contato com a natureza


Contato com animais