The Gateway - Lisbon Eco Hostel Lisbon

We are a hostel in Lisbon, Portugal that is ranked as one of the highest ranked hostels in the world for atmosphere--atmosphere that YOU, as a Worldpacker, create! In return for your work entertaining our guests, planning events, and just keeping the hostel in order, each of our staff members receive free accommodation in our private staff room, free laundry, FREE breakfast, FREE dinner and FREE drinks at our bar.

We are like family. It’s not only about working, it's about connections. If you are ready for the time of your life and to make friends you'll keep in touch with for years then send us an application!

Top Anfitrião
Esse anfitrião recebe muitos worldpackers e tem uma média alta de avaliações.


17 avaliações17

Anfitrião & Equipe


Horas & Atividades




Aprendizado & Diversão




Gateway was my first worldpackers experience and it was amazing! Carlos, Caio, Ana & Arthur made me feel like family and were wonderful. The work was very easy and straightforward. The night shift however was more challenging - that being said I only had to do it once a week and I can’t complain as all the benefits of this job were very generous in my opinion. The roster is also organised nicely so you often get a few days of in a row - enough to go on a mini trip elsewhere in Portugal. I also love all the beautiful girls I volunteered with and am going to miss everyone at gateway so much.

1 mês atrás



Far from a sustainable project, this hostel is full of sexual innuendos. From disgusting room names like “golden shower” “blue balls” to drug-related posters on the walls. Nothing about the hostel even resembles sustainability, as not even the trash is properly separated. Hours are abused and for most of my stay they were severely understaffed. I had to leave early as I couldn’t bear to stay there any longer. Hygiene-wise, it’s as bad as it gets. While making beds, I was told by a cleaning staff that if there were no clean pillow cases left, I should just flip the dirty ones inside out.

2 meses atrás

Carlos respondeu

Hello Maria, thank you for your feedback. It does surprise us the amount of things you mentioned considering you didn't spend time at all at the hostel. We are glad you left us in less than a week, at the Gateway teamwork and empathy are things we appreciate, and you could not offer any of it.

Volunteering doesn't really takes a lot of work, it's a two way road and must be good to both parts. We honoured our deal, but sadly took us a good couple of days to realise you didn't want to help at all, but just have fun with people and get free accommodation.

I know you are just a kid and hopefully you will learn how to be more responsible. Safe travels!



I really had the best experience at the Gateway! The staff is very friendly and welcoming and I met some lovely people. The work is not hard and the work hours are very reasonable. Usually you have to do 1 or 2 night shifts per week (12:00-8:00).
And if you like going out this is the perfect area!

3 meses atrás



This was such an amazing experience, all the staff are so lovely, friendly and welcoming and it was a really nice vibe between the whole team. The work is super easy and flexible. I had the best 6 weeks and I couldn’t reccomend this experience any more!

3 meses atrás

Carlos respondeu

Bianca was such an amazing volunteer, always helpful and with a smile on her face. We wish she could have stayed longer with us!



Thank you so much to Carlos, Caio, Vic, Ana, Anna & Bianca for being part of my experience at this hostel! I truly had the best time ever. The work was easy, the people were kind and the city is full of life. Highly recommend this place!!
Prepare yourself for little amount of sleep and a lot of partying. You don’t want to miss out on the fun nightlife ;)

3 meses atrás

Ideal para você se estiver procurando por

Contato com a natureza

Cidade Média / Pequena