Bob and Colleen's

Hi Worldpackers. Welcome to the Far North, an ideal place to begin your New Zealand experience by starting at the Northern most point of the country and systematically working south in a way that lets you see it all.

Our property, a large multi-purpose farm, is situated close to many of the Far North's beautiful east coast beaches, Kauri forests, ninety-mile beach on the West Coast, less than a day's return visit to Cape Reinga, forty minutes-drive from Paihia or Manganui, and fifteen minutes-drive from Kerikeri. Tour buses to ninety-mile beach, West Coast sand hills, the Kauri Kingdom and Cape Reinga can be boarded from Waipapa and Paihia (we can drive you to and pick you up from the tour buses Waipapa pick up stop.)

Apart from those more northerly attractions there are many beautiful walks around Kerikeri itself, and of course the local waterfalls and Kauri forest - all of which we are pleased to show you and take you to. Help here is 20 hours per week, normally four hours each morning five days a week - but can be made up any way that suits all of us and allows for flexibility so that Worldpackers can explore the immediate area, the Bay of Islands and the far North etc if they wish to do so. A minimum 14-day stay is available (although many folk stay longer) for either a solo male, a solo female, or a mixed gender couple. At present we have availability for Worldpackers from January 2023 to December 2023 in minimum stays of 14 days or longer. A reasonable ability to converse in English is required.

The Worldpacker will help both host and hostess around the property's main house and gardens, normally helping with food preparation/housekeeping for an hour each morning and then with the described live position for the next three hours. The outside help is varied and interesting and depending on the season could include gardening, fencing, spraying, making concrete, building, path construction, brick laying, paver laying, weeding, helping with meal preparation, jam and jelly making, fruit preserving, pruning and grafting. Previous experience is not necessary - but willingness and a strong desire to learn new skills is. All food and accommodation is supplied in exchange for the 20 hours of help per week. We do not cater for specific gluten free, vegetarian, pescatarian, or vegan based diets - but do provide balanced, healthy, tasty meals with loads of home-grown fresh fruit and vegetables included.

Main house, grounds and garden include small orchard of many different kinds of fruit trees, large flower and vegetable gardens, full International sized petanque piste, heavy duty, free weights gymnasium, seven bay shed, concept 2 indoor rower, outdoor chess and other games and entertainments. Worldpackers have full free time use of all such facilities with (if desired) free instruction and training from Host - a former three sport National Champion. Worldpackers live in with host family.

In addition to meals and accommodation, Worldpackers have access to TV, DVD`s, library, washing machine, indoor and outdoor clotheslines and drying racks, free Wi-Fi and internet. So come on up to the winterless North, join the crew and have yourself a ball - we are looking forward to meeting you.

If you look at our video clips, we should perhaps explain that Bob is also a writer, lyricist and record producer. One of his professional pen names is Peter Prescott and that is the name used on You-Tube and therefore on these video clips. Cheers.

Helpers here are regarded as being part of our family. You will have your own room in our main house and live in with us. All meals will be provided and full use of library, laundry, games, gym, TV, and pastimes are encouraged. We love your participation.

Anfitrión Top
Este anfitrión recibe muchos worldpackers y tiene una evaluación media alta.


15 reseñas15

Anfitrión y equipo


Horas y tareas




Aprendizaje y diversión




A truly amazing experience. The house is located about 20 minutes from Kerikeri. You can learn a lot about gardening here. Bob is a brilliant mind and Colleen is the best cook in New Zealand. If you are learning English it is the ideal place. It is important to consider that it is a remote place, there is no public transport as in all the towns of New Zealand.

hace 2 meses

Estados Unidos


I can't say enough good things about this place. The work is exactly what is agreed upon beforehand, and they are both extremely respectful of your time and ability. It was nothing that I couldn't handle, just some work around the house, and working outside wherever it needed it (raking soil and leaves, pruning, helping to build an espalier structure, etc). But more importantly to me, they were both so kind and caring, and really made me feel like I was a part of their family. They were always so accommodating, and were always happy to chat with me. Thank you both so much:) !

hace 2 meses

Reino Unido


This was a fantastic experience, in a wonderful home, with incredible people. Bob and Colleen make you feel like part of the family, while also giving you plenty of space and freedom. I learned a lot about gardening and landscaping, and found the work to be both enjoyable and well-rounded. They also have a wealth of knowledge about the local area and life in general, and I feel I got as much if not more out of the exerience than I expected.

hace 3 meses



Bob and colleen are hospitable people that make you feel part of their family. Working with colleen in the morning is just as fun and entertaining as working with Bob in the afternoon. My experience with my hosts has left me with more than just practical skills.

hace 4 meses

Reino Unido


We're so grateful to have found Bob and Colleen's home, which we were welcomed into immediately. The work was exactly as described, always manageable, and Colleen's wonderful cooking/baking was a fantastic reward at the end of every day.

Despite not having our own transport, we never once felt isolated. Bob and Colleen would go above and beyond to make sure that we had a lift into town if we wanted to go and were even kind enough to take us on trips to see the local sights.

It's a testament to them that they have so many previous guests that stay in touch with them and ask to stay again.

hace 5 meses

Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza