Brig-y-Don

Stunning seascapes. sunrises and moonlight. Fishing, ecological/organic living processes, Welsh rural/coastal culture/environment, pottery woodwork and metalwork skills /facilities.
The sea/beach is 5/10mins stroll through woods and sand dunes from the bottom of the garden, the coast path crosses the beach, Tenby and Pembroke towns with history/culture. Shops are 15 mins drive; and we have a spare bicycle for you to use.
There is a piano, ukuleles and guitars. Wetsuits, bodyboards and tennis rackets (with access to courts in nearby village). Lots of badminton. Card games, backgammon and Chess.
We have been hosting Volunteers from all around the world since 2015 and have enjoyed every moment of it.

We are married with 3 children (age 11, 14 and 15) whom we home educate. Anthony is Welsh and Maria is 1/2 Irish 1/2/Portuguese (speaks French & some Spanish) . We eat fish (which we catch) and fresh veg from the garden most days. We press apples for apple juice and cider in the autumn, we cycle and walk lots (sold our car 3 years ago). We like real coffee, bake our own bread, film, bbq's. We live in an idyllic, 100yr old timber beach house with 120 degree see view. Anthony works as a pottery tutor one day a week in term time and invents/makes/ builds and restores in and around the house. The garden has three polytunnels, one with an aquaponics system and we have a nearby field of 9 acres with hens, ducks and sheep and lots of planted vegetables and grains.

Anfitrión Top
Este anfitrión recibe muchos worldpackers y tiene una evaluación media alta.

Reseñas

5.0
(10 reseñas)10

Anfitrión y equipo

5.0

Horas y tareas

5.0

Hostal

5.0

Aprendizaje y diversión

5.0

Francia

5

J'ai passé un agréable séjour à Brig-y-Don! La famille est adorable, on a fait beaucoup d'activités ensemble (jeux de société, films) ! On y mange très bien, le pain fait maison est très bon ! Le travail est simple, à la portée de tout le monde, et le planning est bien respecté ! Une incroyable expérience pour ma part ! Merci encore Maria, Antoni et les enfants pour l'accueil :)

hace 11 días

España

5


The family is so friendly, I felt very well received, as I were another member of the family. The kids are a charm, and I am going to miss playing cards, listening to the piano, painting with watercolors, making jewelry and the film nights. I have memories that I keep fondly

Also, I had a lot of free time that I spent visit the surroundings( ridind the bike). It was my first volunteering, all my experience was an adventure outside of my comfort zone , and my expectations we're over met.

hace 14 días

Brasil

5

The family is very welcoming, they included us in everything, we really felt like part of the family. We always had all meals together, Maria always cooked, and Antony makes a very good bread! The kids are adorable, I really have a lot of affection for everyone and I will never forget you all! We were supposed to stay from March to early May and we decided to extend for one more month because the family is wonderful and I improved my English a lot! Thank you for everything ❤️

hace 21 días

Brasil

5

Maria e família são extremamente adoráveis e gentis.
Tanto é que estamos aqui até agora.
Nosso voluntário nos fez sentir parte da família.
A família é realmente abençoada.
Maria and her family is extremely lovely and kind.
We are here until now,and we’ll stay until June.
Our volunteer made us fell like part of the family.
They are such a good blessed family.
Thank you all for everything.

hace 27 días

Suiza

5

Wow. This month long experience has been so incredibly fun, beautiful, peaceful, full of love and overall pretty life changing. Maria and Anthony are absolutely amazing hosts who will respect your hours, free time and space (you get a hut all to yourself!!) while also making you feel like you are part of family and including you in everything they do if that’s what you want! The kids are also absolute gems!!
This is a great place if you like walking, swimming and birdwatching!
The Parfitts live a very sustainable, healthy , simple lifestyle that was perfect for me❤️

hace 3 meses


Maria respondido

Emélie stayed with us in the month of February with the brief of teaching our children French and helping out with general household chores. However, this mature 19 year old brought much more to the family with her gentleness, warm, intelligence and sense of humour.
Firstly, she has an eclectic taste in music that supersedes many of the young people we have come across and we relished listening to it; especially while cooking in the kitchen with our 14 year old son.
Apart from teaching French to the children, she taught some songs on the guitar to our eleven year old daughter (in French) and a wonderful piece from the film Amélie on the piano to our son and daughter. She taught them to sketch in pencil and paint in watercolours of seascapes and flowers. Emélie was also a natural in encouraging our daughter with Downs Syndrome to draw “faces” and built a very special relationship with her.
Indeed, Emélie is a catalyst for creating things to the point that, from her inception, we made a music video together called “Pembrokeshire Skies”.
In addition, she is willing and hardworking and always available to help where needed. Often – “Could you scrub some potatoes?” would translate into a delicious meal be cungered up with laughter and singing to be heard along the way.


Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza

Rural

Contacto con los animales

Playa

Familia

Deportes extremos