Home

We have a beautiful house in the county with lots of outdoor space. You will get the chance to spend time outside - learning and practicing horticultural/ gardening skills or perfecting your cooking in our large well equipped kitchen... In return for your help, we are happy to make you part of our family as little or as much as you like and help you explore the area which offers endless opportunities. Personally we love spending time on the beach - swimming, body boarding, looking for fossils... or in the countryside going for walks and cycle rides. And of course, hanging out enjoying our home and spending time with friends. There are plenty of places to explore from the house - beautiful walks and bike rides. You can also ride into Axminster and take a bus or train to different places. We are only 10 minutes by car to the coast: Lyme Regis and Charmouth are both lovely spots on the Jurassic Coast. Some interesting market towns are also nearby Axminster (10 mins), Bridport (20 mins) with its West Bay beach - otherwise known these days as Broadchurch where the series was filmed. Exeter is also 40 mins away either by train or car. Anyway, you won't get bored. Please bear in mind that we live in a rural spot - 5 minute walk to a village shop and an hour walk/ 35 min cycle to the nearest station/town. So you will probably need a car to be totally independent, but our previous volunteers have been happy to gets lifts to places whenever we went ourselves and to come on outings with us.

We are a family of four. I am a Yoga teacher and psychotherapist. My partner is a copy writer and works in London some of the time. We have two young children and also three cats and an energetic sociable dog. We live in the beautiful countryside in Devon trying to lead a sustainable life. We have a house with three acres of land where we have built a poly tunnel and created a largish and expanding vegetable plot. We now grow quite a few different kinds of vegetables and some fruit, including apples (we made 140 bottle of apple juice last September!). We are now considering building a natural swimming pond and creating a wildflower meadow. We heat our house with wood pellets and have a pv system that does our electricity and hot water. We recently put a wagon in our garden which we are refurbishing for a b&b. As you can imagine we are busy! Our lives are filled with interesting stuff to do, but there is a lot of it: looking after our lovely children, taking the dog out, keeping the mess and dirt in the house under control, being outdoors taking care of the land. This is why we want to stress that we are looking for people who already have lived independently, have some life experiences and useful skills, and who are self reliant and motivated to get on with tasks without constant supervision and direction. The best travellers we have had have been people who can take the initiative to do something when they see it needs doing whether that's clearing up after a meal, taking the dog for a walk or weeding a path. During the spring and summer, we are particularly interested in people with skills in horticulture/ gardening to look after the veg patch and polytunnel at the busiest time of the year. Otherwise we always welcome anyone who can help keep the house tidy and clean, who can cook a wholesome (maybe even awesome ) meal and occasionally take Molly the dog for a nice walk. We need someone who is self motivated and independent and can make our life easier and more manageable. Diy skills like tiling, painting, plumbing and carpentry are always a bonus (we would like to refurbish a bathroom).


Todas las experiencias


reseñas

1 reseña1

Anfitrión y equipo

Horas y tareas

Hostal

Aprendizaje y diversión

Argentina

unfortunately I have to say that this experience was not good at all and that I do not recommend it to other travelers. Unfortunately the first day they gave me a sheet with the tasks to do and they told me to read them so they could explain me and that explanation never came. The place is far to the city and other places. It's a messy family, everyone uses things and leaves them out all the time. I have had to go to the bathroom several times and have not thrown the chain.
I like to write all my experience but I can't for the numbers of caracters in the reference!

21 días atrás

Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza

Playa

Zona salvaje

Familia