Make a social impact by promoting urban agriculture in an island in Rio de Janeiro

Volunteers will learn about agrofloresta and gardening in general and will benefit from a vivid cultural atmosphere as I am also a musician, member of some musical collectives, many of them having Rio's streets as stage and place to stand up against social injustices and oppressions. There are tons of things to do on your time off. You can join me and dive in Rio's vivid cultural and party scene, can enjoy its warm beaches, dance to never ending Carnival vibes, can go hiking, biking, have a cold beer on its fun streets, chill and live a country life in Paquetá... it's up to you and your energy ;)

My name is Viviane but you can call me Vivi. I am traveller who has been travelling and living abroad pretty frequently for over a decade now. On the last 2 years I engaged on backpacking trips, the last one being a journey around Brazil, during which I connected to people and practises guided by sustainable principles as I dedicated to volunteer jobs. Inspired by ideas and dreams I shared on the road, I returned to my beloved city, Rio de Janeiro, and landed in Paquetá island aiming on kicking off a socioenviromental project on the neighbourhood. My goal is to set up an urban agriculture model by implementing a community vegetable garden and supporting family vegetable gardens initiatives, providing food security and life quality to the community. I had few workaway experiences on the last years and they definitely helped me building this project and the mentality that sharing and cooperating are the key to life and to vanish injustices. Here we will share everything: practises, joys, food, housing and responsibilities, always aiming equality. I am very easygoing and consider myself a world citizen. If you join me on this purpose, you will be hosted in paradisic Paquetá Island, only a 50 mins ferry ride from Rio's historic and cultural core. The island is a tranquility shelter carved in the center of Guanabara Bay. Here we live in a different frequency, we don't have neither cars nor big city concerns and fears. The house where I live has 2 bedrooms and helpers will be accomodaded in one of them, to be shared by up to 2 people.


Todas las experiencias


reseñas

1 reseña1

Anfitrión y equipo

Horas y tareas

Hostal

Aprendizaje y diversión

Brasil

compartilhar com vivi foi incrível!! uma pessoa incrível e dedicada, me apresentou a todo um pomar num espaço que a maioria das pessoas não veriam possibilidade de muita coisa. aprendi muito sobre cultivo e manutenção de plantas assim como passei momentos incríveis na ilha de Paquetá, seja sozinha ou tomando uma cerveja na companhia dessa mulher arretada!! ah, como comi bem com toda fartura agroflorestal!

13 días atrás

Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza

Ciudad mediana / pequeña

Playa

Fiesta

Deportes extremos