Wonga Worru in the rainforest

If you love nature and a peaceful life, surrounded by rainforest inhabited by many species of reptiles, snakes, wallabies and birds you will love staying with us. We are 10 kilometers away from the closest village! If you love parties and night life, chose another host.

We need a couple, or two volunteers travelling together, to help us manage our 10 acres of rainforest!

We are presently BOOKED until the middle of April 2024. A month ago we were almost totally available.

The work we will ask from you is mostly very physical and will take place out of doors. We need you to remove lots of feral plants such as lantana, serratro and blue top. There are a lot of fallen tree limbs that need cutting up and removal. Our road needs some work digging and maintaining drains and distributing gravel. Lots of hard labour!

The work is mostly energetic and outdoors but we expect you to pace yourself and keep safe and comfortable. It can get very hot here, but last summer was very mild. We will supply you with work gloves, sunscreen and insect repellent. You will need to bring sunglasses, a good sunhat and boots suitable for working on a slope.

You WILL encounter much wildlife including spiders, snakes, echidnas, kangaroos and lots of birds! So bring a camera/phone!

We do have quite a few snakes about the place. You will see them occasionally but if you leave them alone they will do the same. We have lots of spiders too but ditto with leaving them alone. The other pests are flies mosquitoes and leeches. For that there is only bug spray and we supply that.

If you are interested in renewable energy, water conservation, and sustainability in general, our home is an example of how on/off-grid solar energy and battery storage works, onsite water collection and storage works, land management measures, and other simple lifestyle adaptions that we are happy to show off and discuss!

We have now had 3 volunteers in 2023. So glad to be back in the game! Ours is a homestay, NOT a business. You will be staying with an expatriate Canadian 78 years of age and a Kiwi of 62 years; both rather younger at heart. We are non smokers, infrequent drinkers, and love conversation about science, politics and environmentalism! We run our internet business from home so we will be here 6 days a week on average. We love showing our volunteers the national parks and beaches in our amazing area. We also love sharing our home and our interests with them. We have had volunteers from Europe, North America and various parts of Asia. Sharing language and culture with everyone is a joy for us. We hope you like conversation, playing cards and living together like a family.


(4 reseñas)4

Anfitrión y equipo


Horas y tareas




Aprendizaje y diversión




David and Jo-Ann are very lovely people and immediately treated me like family. I learned so much about the nature and wildlife in the Austrailian rainforest through their great knowledge. I really enjoyed my time with them and I can recommend them to anyone who enjoys a good and honest work envirement.

hace 20 días

Estados Unidos


very welcoming and friendly. also very knowledgeable about a lot of the plant and animal life in the area.

hace 3 meses



It was hard, physical work everyday but it was so much fun! I spent most of my time collecting sticks and tree limbs from pathways, removing Lantana, spreading wood chips, and digging out tree stumps. Jo-Ann and David are lovely hosts, so kind and know lots about local wildlife and everything there is to do around the Tweed Valley! An isolated property so don’t expect to leave the property outside of days off, was perfect for a decompressing time away from cities!

hace 6 meses

Estados Unidos


I really enjoyed my time with David and Jo-Anne. We got on great and true to their description, they treat visitors like family and are extremely knowledgeable about the local area. I worked on refurbishing some outdoor benches, weeding/landscaping, and hauling downed limbs away. It's a quiet stay away from any big cities, but they will take you on excursions and if you tell them what interests you, they'll try to cater to that. E.g. I told them I liked animals, so they took me to a wildlife sanctuary. Great place if a quiet time in the Australian country/outdoors is what you're looking for!

hace 8 meses

Perfecto para ti si estás buscando

Contacto con la naturaleza


Contacto con los animales


Zona salvaje