Les Piloux

We have just bought the property and we are looking forward to putting our own stamp on the place.

The property is located in a very tranquil location covering over 10 acres of land mainly woodland that opens up to a 4-acre opening that contains the main house, the static home, the lake and 2 ponds.

The property is located just 1km from a beautiful village with its own small castle, beautiful stone buildings, and a coffee bar.

The surrounding countryside has wonderful walks and bike trails that take you to other villages and a golf course is also located within 1km of the property.

The property is just 30 minutes from the airport and train station in Limoges.

Originally from the UK I moved to France in 2006 and tried to buy a place with a lake, I looked at 6 properties in 5 different regions of France, 5 had lakes and I ended up buying the only property without a lake in Brittany. I bought a pair of holiday cottages with a pool and ran a holiday cottage business there until 2022. In the UK I worked as a Financial Advisor and was very much into NLP and goal planning, so much so that during a period of being employed I used to go around the country giving motivational talks and how to achieve your goals in life. In 2022 it was time to finally buy the house with a lake so the search restarted and I found my dream home in June 2022 and moved in just before Christmas. I am a single dad of two young boys, 9 and 6 and now my life is focused on only one thing to make their lives as happy as possible. So we need to build a tree house, install a trampoline, buy a pedalo to enjoy on the larger lake, and enjoy loads of parties and entertaining. Our volunteers will be staying in the static home so they have their own space to relax and unwind. The static home has a kingsize bed, shower, and separate toilet plus a living area/kitchen. The static home is located on a hill and overlooks the larger lake but just 100 meters from the house. Within the kitchen is a fridge, gaz hob, coffee maker, kettle and toaster to allow our guests to enjoy breakfast at whatever time they wish. We look forward to enjoying lunches and dinners together at the main house and for our volunteers to enjoy being part of the family. During the summer months, we will enjoy eating outside and having BBQs overlooking the smaller lake just 5 meters from the main house. Entertainment at the property: we have an above-ground swimming pool to cool off in the hot summer months, archery, a gym, and of course fishing on the larger lake and the 2 ponds - plus movie nights. My goal for the property is to make it as self-sufficient as possible, we are already off-grid for our water supply, and I intend to install a wood burner for heat in the main house and solar panels to become fully off-grid. I have introduced good-eating fish in the lakes, planted an orchard that I wish to expand, and I plan to plant a soft fruit garden and vegetable patch. We also breed rabbits for meat and my intention is to raise turkeys for meat and chickens for eggs. I love watching 'River Cottage ' and on that small holding his animals have good lives before providing sustenance for the family. We have a dog a Rhodesian Ridgeback named Star who is less than a year old.


4 avaliações4

Anfitrião & Equipe


Horas & Atividades




Aprendizado & Diversão


Hong Kong (Sar)


It's an absolutely quaint village in France with no nightlife or parties, but you'll have peaceful moments to connect with nature. I'll never forget the dormouse encounter, haha. If you prefer staying close to nature, then Mark's place will be your best option. However, before you come, you should seriously consider whether you want a lifestyle like that.

4 meses atrás



Mark and the boys were amazing, they welcomed me into their house and were very generous and considerate.
Mark was upfront with the daily task and responsibility, unfortunately I had to leave earlier than anticipated but I had a good time with them.

5 meses atrás



Estar en Lex piloux fue maravilloso! Mark, es un atento, servicial y respetuoso padre de dos hermosos niños James y Jason, desde antes de venir estuvimos en contacto y fue muy honesto con el trabajo que se debía hacer y todo lo que te podía ofrecer, el lugar es realmente increíble para tener tranquilidad y conectar con la naturaleza, el trabajo que se debe hacer es muy manual y realmente disfrute hacerlo, agradezco poder haber compartido 2 semanas en este lugar porque conocí de la cocina inglesa, los chistes de mark, la amabilidad de los niños en la casa y la compañia de la dulce star💖🐾

7 meses atrás

Mark respondeu

Thank you Maryan it was a pleasure having you stay at Les Piloux and having guests like you makes using Worldpackers a great decision.

You are always welcome back



Hola a todos.
Este fue mi primer voluntariado y la experiencia desde el inicio fue excepcional, estuve en constante comunicación con Marck desde antes de llegar, tuve un viaje muy largo y el primer día pude descansar, tuve un lugar completamente privado , la habitación fue muy cómoda. Marck cocina delicioso, comí varios platos típicos del Reino Unido , respeto completamente el horario de colaboración las tareas siempre fueron de jardineria, Marck estaba muy pendiente de mi me ofrecía bebidas y alimento constantemente, aprendi ingles y fue paciente al enseñarme, tambien puedes lavar tu ropa.😁

8 meses atrás

Ideal para você se estiver procurando por

Contato com a natureza


Contato com animais