Märchenkoffer e.V.

If you like children and want to be a teacher (or enjoy working with them, or already worked as a teacher somewhere else), you will gain a lot of experience, communicating daily with our teachers. You will see, how the teaching programs are created, how we deal with individual difficulties, how the work with parents is built and how bilingual education works.
We will also show you around, tell you all you would like to know about the culture, life, studies and work in Germany; we will help you to learn German language.
There are plenty of things to explore around here - nature, architecture, cultural life. From Hanover you can travel around the whole Lower Saxony (even to the North Sea), walk through the beautiful little towns and even hike (or ski) in the Harz mountains.

We are a little educational center for bilingual kids: those who live in Germany and have Russian, Turkish or Polish as second (or first) native language. Normally those kids can speak German fluently, but don't have many opportunities to practice their other mother tongue. We are supporting the bilingual education helping our guests not to forget and even to improve their language skills while taking part in a big variety of interesting activities (workshops, camps, guided tours, theater plays etc.). We don't get any support from the government (yet), so lots of things are done on a voluntarily basis: that means everyone whom you are going to meet in the center does plenty of unpaid work. For everyone of us it's something we are really passionate about.


13 avaliações13

Anfitrião & Equipe


Horas & Atividades




Aprendizado & Diversão




This was my first experience with Worldpackers and I spent a pleasant week with very welcoming hosts in Hannover.
I was very impressed with the educational centre Märchenkoffer, which offers various fun activities for the children that help them socialise and keep in touch with their mother tongue and culture.
While helping out I've enjoyed exploring Hannover as I was given a flexible schedule - so no day was boring.
Thank you so much for the valuable experience and your hospitality!

10 dias atrás

Alexandra respondeu

Thank you Lara, it was a pleasure to meet you



I highly recommend this host. It was a great opportunity to get to know the city, new people and of course the kids! The team is very friendly and Alexandra selects tasks according to your personal interests, which is very important! Working with children was the most exciting memory for me. Many thanks to Dana for cooking, the food was excellent! Sasha and Dana, i really appreciate the time we spent together, hope to see you again!

6 meses atrás

Alexandra respondeu

Thank you Darya, you are always welcome back.

Estados Unidos


A great chance to help kind folks at a non-profit promoting bilingualism! The first week, I was a cook, gardener, and photographer during animation camp. The second week, I helped with renovations, which included painting walls, organizing food, and cleaning windows. Some teachers, volunteers, and kids speak English and German, but you'll be able to socially engage with everyone more if you speak Russian. The apartment was cozy and the walk to work was pleasant. In my free time, I explored Hannover and I spent the weekend in Berlin, not too far by train. Overall, an interesting experience.

1 ano atrás



If you are willing to sleep in the living room with someone working, to open the fridge and finding 90% of food 8/5 months overdue, to work at least 1 or 2 hours more than agreed everyday, to do SIMULTANEOUSLY:housekeeping, handyman,gardening,cleaning,postal carrier,doorperson,serving meals,painting,kids watching,then it could be nice for you. Or if you are fluent in Russian you can teach and it could make it easier. If you, like me,read in their profile that you could go with your English or basic Russian, your experience will be bad as mine probably.But giving overdue food is unforgivable.

1 ano atrás

Alexandra respondeu

Dear Raquel, you have written in your application that you have Russian teaching experience and are willing to work with kids. When you arrived, we figured out that you technically don’t speak any Russian, so teaching in the project which we picked for you was not possible.
All the rest - your tasks, working hours, weekends - was discussed upfront, so I am very surprised to figure out now that it actually didn’t fit.
I think that if something doesn’t fit, people talk about that.
I used to think that our communication worked well.
After you disappeared and never came back 5 minutes before you were supposed to help on the summer festival (with kids, as you wished), the whole picture changed a bit, but still… I am quite surprised so see this review, especially something about the wrong food in the fridge, as the owners of the flat live there and eat together with volunteers. You should have better written that the toilet is outside, it would have surprised me less :D good luck and please don’t write things in your application which are not truth, it will help you next time to find a host which will fit better.
PS: pity to say that, but this is our first bad experience with Worldpackers, hopefully the last one.



it was a great experience, Alexandra is a great host. The work was easy and the people in the center are very nice

mais de 1 ano atrás

Ideal para você se estiver procurando por

Cidade Média / Pequena