• Age: 29
  • Nationality: United Kingdom
  • Languages: Spanish, Polish, and English

Volunteer experiences

Experience in Costa Rica

Hostel Fortuna, Costa Rica Apr/2022

Cleaning, Housekeeping, and Reception

Review written by the host

Una chica demasiado excelente; muy amable y servicial en todo momento. Cada tarea que se le asigno lo hizo de la mejor manera. Gracias por tu apoyo, cuidate mucho.

  • Reception
  • Cleaning

Review written by Joanna

I really enjoyed my time at the hostel. I think Alex and Oscar are amazing hosts! They are very welcoming, kind, fun and understanding. Working at the reception was really fun, I met so many amazing travellers and I had loads of fun every day and really enjoyed my shift. I recommend this experience to everyone :) Thank you Alex & Oscar <3

Experience in Costa Rica

La Virgen, Costa Rica Mar/2022

Gardening and Arts

Host didn’t write a review

Academy certificates

How to become an outstanding Worldpacker

This course is designed to help volunteers prepare for Worldpackers' experiences, including creating a complete traveler profile and sending great applications, sharing feedback with hosts, and other best practices for successful exchanges and your project's growth!

Community contributions

How the traveler helps the Worldpackers community besides volunteering.


Writing articles for the Worldpackers Blog


Attracting new hosts to the community

Articles written as Blogger

View all

What to do in Nicaragua

  • 4min

What is rural tourism and what are its benefits?

  • 6min


  • Polish
  • English
  • Spanish


I'm an expert!
  • Social Work
  • Teaching Sports
  • Tour Guide
Some experience
  • Cleaning 1
  • Reception 1
  • Administration
  • Animal Care
  • Bartending
  • Child Care
  • Content Writer
  • Cooking
  • Farming
  • Gardening
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
  • Teaching Languages
I want to learn it
  • Building & Repairing
  • Music
  • Party Promoter

About me as an author

Joanna Roams Free - Ethical and Responsible Travel

Hey! My name is Joanna, and I have been travelling full time for over 3 years now. During my travels I like to explore the social, political and economic affairs of the countries I visit. I love to learn more about locals and their lives in their homes. I love to dive deep and get off the beaten path to see what the country is really like when the tourists are not looking. I value and always prioritise responsible and raw travel that leaves positive impact on the society and myself.



I have a Bachelor Degree in International Relations with a specialism in Environment. I would like to pursue a masters degree in Human Rights.

Work experience

My work experience includes - 

Outdoor/Adventure Sports - I have worked as a rock climbing instructor in New Zealand with people of all ages and mainly beginners. I have also worked as a Hiking/Mountain Leader mainly in Canada and the States, however I have also done few jobs in Ecuador and all over the UK. I have worked at summer camps with kids aged 7-17, taking them out for camping and hiking trips into the Canadian Rockies. I have also led kayaking and paddle boarding excursions. I am also a certified Wilderness First Responder and have done quite a few medical courses so I know how to handle any accidents in the wilderness. I love outdoor and adventure sports and have some/lots of experience in most sports! 

Handling customers, reception and administration, serving/preparing food, drinks, cleaning - I have previously worked in hostels, in the reception, at the bar or in the cafe/restaurant. I am an open person and I always make friends with the customers and spend time with them if they want to! I like to show people around the area and give them all my tips and recommendations about the area/country visiting. 
I am able to follow instructions on how to prepare foods or drinks - I have prepared breakfasts at hostels and Airbnbs before and I am able to handle big orders.

Travel experience

I am a full time traveler for over 3 years now, however have been traveling for nearly 10 years now. I often work or volunteer during my travels. I have traveled a lot in Europe, lived and worked in New Zealand and Canada, road tripped around the USA, backpacked South America and now starting in Central America! I am planning on traveling up north to Mexico.