Social Host

Some content was translated automatically. Show original

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

United States

4

Overall a positive experience! I went during low season so I didn't meet so many other travelers as the hostel was pretty quiet but thought Siem Reap is lovely with lots to do. Kush is very laid back and gives you freedom to make your own hours. I found it a little difficult to make the social type of content since it was low season, and another volunteer around to help would've been beneficial but other than that everything was good

21 days ago

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

United States

4

Overall I had a really good experience here! The hostel is really nice, it's clean, comfortable, and fun! It's in a really good location and volunteering here came with a lot of benefits. The only downside really was the lack of communication from the host. I was told I was working the morning shift but that's not really a thing which is no problem but led to confusion. My first night I went to bed because I thought I was working the morning shift and the host texted me on Instagram asking where I was and in the morning snapped at me. Later on it was really hard to find him and ask questions.

about 2 months ago

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

United Kingdom

4

I really enjoyed my time here, the staff and other volunteers were lovely and it was very easy to fit in and feel comfortable. Only downside was that responsibilities were a bit unorganised and I ended up doing very different tasks to the role I originally applied for. I still had a great time - it's a very nice hostel but still under improvements as it has just recently transitioned from a hotel.

3 months ago

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

France

3

This was a nice experience which made me meet a lot of new people :)
However I would recommend it more extroverted people who like going out since this is a very social hostel.
I would also keep in mind that it is quite hard to manage our days around the volunteering hours since they were in the middle of the day and that communication was often last minute.

3 months ago

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

Spain

3

Cozy hostel with a great location, delicious food, and a very friendly and welcoming staff ☺️ On the downside, the volunteer tasks are not clearly communicated and there seems to be some disorganization regarding the work arrangements. It is also a party hostel, which is worth considering depending on the type of experience you are looking for.

4 months ago

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

United States

4

More communication about tasks beforehand, was unaware that we could not go out at night between 6-11pm so I ended up just paying $3 a night

4 months ago


Ankush replied

Hi Gianna, thanks for your feedback. We’d like to clarify that you informed us just one day before arrival that you’d be coming several days late, then arrived with your twin despite the application being for one volunteer. On your first shift, you left during the evening event, which volunteers are expected to attend as part of being in a social hostel. As you left before orientation, we never had the chance to explain all volunteer benefits, including free breakfast, coffees, and smoothies.

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

United Kingdom

3

Not a bad experience at all, but everyone signing up should be aware that the hotel (which is gorgeous btw) is transitioning into a party hostel. So just know what you’re signing up for in the future!

6 months ago

About the experience in: Siem Reap, Cambodia

Brazil

5

To start, the hostel is beautiful, well located, with clean and comfortable dormitories. Regarding volunteering, it is very straightforward and in line with what was advertised. Additionally, it's a great place for you to meet people from various parts of the world, and the activities that the hostel promotes are very fun and inclusive.

2 months ago

Apply Now